Elan Village and Claerwen Reservoir Dog Walk and Driving Tour: Memories of Lost Valleys
Hetty Price, a farmer’s daughter who lived in the lower Claerwen valley in the 1880’s, recorded some of her memories of the lost valleys when she was in her seventies. Her father’s farm was on the other side of the River Claerwen opposite "the Grand Mansion of Nantgwyllt where the Squire lived."
"At Christmas we always had a treat and Christmas tree in the drawing room at Nantgwyllt, and the young ladies waited on us. It was looked forward to for months."
She recalled the old school attended by the children of the two valleys:
"There was a nice School and School-house attached, kept altogether by Miss Gertrude Lewis Lloyd, a sister of the Squire. She was always doing good deeds, giving suits of clothes for the poorer children, and material to make frocks for the girls."
The tiny church which served the community was also remembered:
"Lower down the road from the School was Nantgwyllt Church where most of the children and parents of the two valleys went to worship every Sunday afternoon. The Parson had to come all the way from Rhayader on horse back. He had a very long beard, and we children stood in awe of him, and also the Gentry of Nantgwyllt."
The church was drawn by Eustace Tickell in 1893, as one of a series of charming illustrations reproduced in his book "The Vale of Nantgwilt - A Submerged Valley".
See more on the remarkable history of this lost community in rural Wales here: http://history.powys.org.uk/history/rhayader/memories.html
Click on picture to scroll to next page