What other dog owners say about Jack's Dog Friendly Hotel - Dog Friendly Wales

Go to content

Main menu:

Dog's Reviews
________________________________________

Dog Owners' Reviews - 2017
Craig y Nos Castle Dog Friendly B&B
________________________________________
“Shia Tzu on tour”
Reviewed April 2017 - 4 out of 5 stars.
Always on the look out for dog friendly hotels. This dog friendly castle in the Brecon becons national park is a real find. They offer dog friendly mid week B&B deals between all the weddings the do. Our dogs made to feel most welcome by all the staff. They allow the dogs to eat with you in the bar, they get their own bed and complentary sausage. Unlike other hotels there is no extra charge for your dogs. With a country park on your door step it is dog walkers paradise. The big plus was the bird watching. There are Dippers in the river, woodpeckers drumming in the trees and Kite ovehead. Staff are very attentive and food is wholesome with a Welsh theme. Had a great time.
Stayed April 2017
“Lovely Visit”
Reviewed April 2017 - 5 stars
Excellent stay, clean, very friendly staff, amazing surroundings! So dog friendly to our two golden retrievers. Will be going back and in fact already recommending it to friends. Julian and Valerie Rutherford

“Historic dog friendly hotel.”
Reviewed March 2017 - 5 stars
This is indeed a hotel for dogs and their owners. It is steeped in history, staff who went out of their way to provide for both humans and canines. Dogs were given a bed by their owners at meal times, and served sausage for breakfast. Adelina Patti a famous opera singer (1878-1919) lived there and her theatre is used for weddings. It is a unique setting, with wonderful grounds and and adjacent country park with numerous walks and footpaths. It made me appreciate the struggle surrounding the maintenance of such a fine house. There was a hot tub and multiple pieces of gym equipment. The food was delicious and beautifully cooked. We will certainly return for another visit. Room Tip: I would imagine all rooms had good views of the surrounding countryside and gardens.
Stayed March 2017, travelled with friends

“Dog Friendly Short Break”
Reviewed March 2017 - 5 stars
We had a 3 night break at the castle with our dog Ronnie, our room was warm, cosy and comfortable with a lovely spacious bathroom and nice views of the countryside. The breakfasts were delicious and good quality with a tasty sausage for Ronnie every day. The evening meal was also of a very high standard. The staff were very friendly and helpful even bringing all the dogs a bed to lie on while we were eating our evening meal. The grounds were perfect for walking our dog. We had a very special time.
Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple

"Dog friendly”
Reviewed March 2017 mobile - 4 out of 5 stars
Loved my stay here at the castle. My dog was welcome everywhere and there were many other dog walkers there. Ideally placed to be able to visit so many other places in driving distance. I definitley would go back again time and time with my little furry friend. Food was great and the hottub a welcome treat after walks. Big log fires everywhere but could be a little cold at night. But hey....we are on the brecon beacons so take appropriate clothing and warm nightwear. You will need a car to go further afield but the country park is really nice for dogs. People were so friendly i would even feel safe and comfortable on my own. The castle has a lot of history and the present owners have written an account of their joy of owning such a wonderful piece of history. Candid and humourous, it is a well worth reading. I wish them good luck with their ongoing project and hope to return to see the improvements each year.
Stayed March 2017, travelled with friends

“Lovely castle”
Reviewed March 2017 - 5 stars
We have just returned from a very relaxing 5 night stay in this delightful castle. We took our 2 dogs, who were treated as well as the human guests, every morning sausages for them. The castle is a work in progress, it has been restored to a very high standard. The staff were all so friendly and helpful, they all made a fuss of the dogs that were staying, this is unusual. The breakfasts were fresh and plentiful. We used the hot tub, also very good after a hard days walking. The only thing we would like to say, what a shame some other dog owners do not pick up after their dogs, this is not fair on the owners of this beautiful castle. Thank you all very much for a lovely stay, we will return and recommend you.
Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple

“A short break”
Reviewed March 2017 via mobile - 5 stars
Wonderful place to stay. Staff go above and beyond to make your stay a good one. They catered for our dietary requirements and made our 2 spaniels very welcome. You rarely find such a dog friendly place and the grounds and area is outstandingly beautiful. The castle tour is worth doing and the history is really interesting.

“lovely stay - definitely dog friendly”
Reviewed March 2017 - 4 out of 5 stars
When they say dog friendly - they really mean it! They treated our beagle like royalty even though he barked every time someone came in (I think he thought we'd moved house and he was protecting the castle!!) and was a bit more on the 'mad' side than the other very calm dogs staying there. Plenty of walks nearby - the owner has helpfully compiled a folder of walks with instructions that you're able to photocopy at reception. Our room was fairly basic, but we opted for a smaller room with an en suite and amazing roll top bath. If I hadn't been so set on the lovely bath, it probably would have been better to have one of the larger rooms, or at least one on the ground floor to make things easier with the dog. The food was tasty and the staff were all amazing - they couldn't do enough for us. The Castle is a lovely place to get away. We stayed for 3 nights on the 'buy one night get the other nights for £50' offer, and were very happy with that price.
Room Tip: ground floor would have been easier with the dog, but A21 has an amazing roll top bath!
Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple

“What an amazing place !”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile - 4 out of 5 stars
We have just returned from a 3 day stay at Craig y Nos Castle . The first day we checked in and the receptionist showed us to the room. It was clean and very spacious . As we had the dog we where very close to the court yard which was very handy. We when down for food in the bar in the evening and the food was amazing ! The next morning we went for breakfast and was welcomed by Cath ... she is so lovely and had very good knowledge of the area and walks. She made such a fuss with the dog which my dog loved. The breakfast was lovely well prepared and it was extra special that they even provide a sausage for the dog too. We were also given Welsh cakes that where freshly prepared. We went for a long walk around the grounds . They are so beautiful but I was a bit taken back with the issue that you couldn't leave your dog off the lead in numerous places, when I read the reviews I had a different impression. The local walks where lovely and would recommend Henrhyd Falls walk, Wellies are a must! We came back for food in the evening and sat by the fire which was relaxing. Overall the stay was lovely! I would recommend that you check that all facilities are available as the ghost tours was not at this time. I would also check that the menu in the bar changed more regular as over the 3 nights that we where there the same menu was presented . There need to be more change. I would definitely visit again!

MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this review:
Thanks for your comments, it is nice to read your review and good to hear that you found the room to be nice and well appointed. I am happy to read your comments of our good food, and excellent staff service – Cath indeed is a great asset to the Castle. Unfortunately the country park next to the Castle has some kind of policy with “no dogs off leads” during certain times of the week (they have bird displays) however all the Castle grounds by the river, and in our meadows are lead free. Ghost Tours are usually done for Groups as we have to bring a Ghost Hunter in and we have a daily history tour, we do try to vary the menu and will query your comments with our kitchen. I am glad overall that you enjoyed and do come again, if you specifically are looking for a tour let me know and I can arrange for this to happen.

  • Owner adds: Bird displays in the Country Park are quite rare, about once a week for a few hours, but on this occasion the Falconer had left his signs up for several days when he was not in the Country Park at all. He has since been reminded to remove his signs when he is not in the Country Park. Dates he is in the Country Park are shown on our Craig y Nos Meadow page, scroll to bottom of page. He will tend to be in one specific area of the Country Park leaving at least half the Park unaffected, and is gone within a couple of hours or so. Since he was told to remove his signs when he leaves, we have not come across any further issues with the falconer. The Country Park may occasionally use him for pest control in the Hay Meadow, though I have not witnessed this myself.

“No 1 Dog friendly Castle Hotel.”
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile - 5 stars
Fantastic , loved the hotel , the friendly staff , the fantastic setting with walks along the river right on the doorstep and top quality food on the menu you could not fault describes what will NOT be last time we will be visiting this stunning Castle hotel. We had a lovely room (28) which was very comfortable and lovely bathroom and can only say we have been on lots of dog friendly hotels all over the country but this certainly is our no 1.
Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple

“Excellent friendly and professional staff”
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile - 4 out of 5 stars
Stayed for two nights, all the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They would go all the extra mile to help guests. The most exceptional dog friendly hotel. Enjoyed a good breakfast, and the dogs enjoyed their sausages.


“A short break”
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile - 5 stars
We had a lovely few days stay and all staff were very friendly. Our room was lovely and warm but next time I will book a larger room but that was my own fault. Our dog Digby was made very welcome and enjoyed his sausage at breakfast. Our breakfast was superb and we really enjoyed it,set us up for the day. A very tasty evening meal also in lovely surroundings. The walks are wonderful in the grounds and a coffee in the cafe after feeding the ducks. A definite return for us again this year.
Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple

“For dog lovers this hotel is a must”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile - 5 stars
Went to this hotel because it's dog friendly, absolutely fantastic choice, staff excellent, room great nice size for you and your best friend! Dogs allowed in bar and restaurant. Lovely grounds to walk around . Have rebooked to go again. Work in progress but won't affect you . Full breakfast all you want . Evening meals good. Nice selection of beers and wines .
Stayed February 2017, travelled with family

“A dog's delight”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 - 5 stars
Great location for walks - right next to Craig Yr Nos Country Park and a short drive to waterfalls, Staff very helpful and friendly. Dogs were given their own bed to lie on whilst we had an evening meal - then the following morning they were brought their own cooked breakfast.
Lovely informal atmosphere in the hotel. You are welcomed in walking boots and raincoats. Evening meal and breakfast of a good standard. Food home cooked, hot and tasty. Free wifi in bars and main hotel. Accommodation clean and welcoming. Tea and coffee making facilities in room, with plenty of supplies. Our 3rd visit and they are improving everytime. Will definitely return. Thank you for a relaxing stay.
Stayed February 2017, travelled with family

“Perfect place to stay with your dogs!”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 - 5 stars
We booked Craig Y Nos Castle for Christmas 2016 and stayed from 23rd to 26th December. We often go away with our dogs but usually book a cottage as we worry our dogs would become an problem staying in a hotel. Well, I can honestly say that this hotel puts dog friendly into a whole new light! From the minute we arrived we didn't have a worry about our dogs. This is possibly the best place you could ever visit with dogs. Even the cottages we have stayed in before this hotel have a long list of do's and don'ts with your dogs but Craig Y Nos Castle makes you feel your dogs are as important as you and are as welcome as you. We didn't have to worry what the dogs were doing or where they were allowed to go, just about everywhere was dog friendly in the hotel and I mean dog friendly like you've never known it! This allowed us to relax and really enjoy our break. The hotel may need some cosmetic surgery here and there but look beyond that as it is truly beautiful even when in need of some work. The staff are amazing and so friendly and make you and you dogs feel like family. It's home from home but without all the housework and cooking! The food is great and the dogs got their very own breakfast too which went down a treat! Nothing is too much when you visit this hotel. It may not be the well oiled machine some people expect from a hotel but I'd never want this hotel to become a Hilton or Holiday Inn as they have no soul. Our room had everything you need and was a good size. The bathroom was huge with a fabulous roll top bath which I loved. This is an idilyc setting for anyone wanting a break from it all but is especially great for dog lovers like us. The country park behind the hotel is just wonderful and the dogs had so much fun there. It has everything you need on your door step. The gift shop is a must too....could have bought so many more lovely gifts but had to stop myself! And the lady that owns it gave us a lovely history lesson for free! We will definitely be back to Craig Y Nos Castle with our dogs. I don't believe anyone will ever find somewhere so dog friendly. Thank you for a fantastic stay and please don't change the way you are as we think it's perfect!
Room Tip: If staying with dogs, book one of the garden or ground floor rooms.
Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple

“A family & dog two night stay in an authentic castle in the Brecons”
Reviewed 15 February 2017 - 4 out of 5 stars
I primarily chose Craig-y-nos Castle for our two night stay in the Brecons because we could take our dog with us for a change. I also thought it would be exciting for our 8 year old twins to stay in a real castle (that is supposedly haunted) and has immediate access to the fabulous national park. We travelled from Oxfordshire, it took around 3 hours and was not difficult to find (good start!). We had Room 15 which is a family suite. It was plenty big enough, with two good sized bedrooms, a large vintage style bathroom and a living area with TV & DVD player. The bedrooms back onto the main road so take earplugs if you are light sleeper and not used to road noise. Although the walls are thick, the windows are old style sash windows so obviously not double glazed. The heating was on which was lovely but this room has a large front door with a large gap at the bottom so we did experience a cold draught. We used our coats to put up against it at night. Perhaps a draught excluder could be crafted by the gift shop owners for residents to use if it is windy outside?

We had an evening meal in the conservatory the first night, you can take your dog with you. We did take ours but then halfway through decided to take her back to the room as she wasn't settling knowing there were other dogs nearby. The food from the set menu was delicious and the kids got to choose from fish fingers, sausages or nuggets which was perfect if you have fussy eaters. Breakfast was also taken in the conservatory. Probably best time to go is after 8.15am to give the kitchen time to get all the hot food ready (full English). Doggies get their own sausage, chopped up on their own plate. This is a really nice thing to do and my dog soon knew the routine, refusing to eat anything until we got to breakfast! My son particularly liked the Welsh tea bags. We had to go and buy some from the Cwtch bakery to take home. There are a couple of areas in the castle to sit and relax in front of the wood burners with the dogs and a bar to grab a drink in the evening. We didn't explore the castle but you can get a guided tour. The grounds behind the castle are fabulous for walking. There is a duck pond where you can buy duck food for 50p a bag, the kids loved that. Beside the castle is a car park for the park, and there is a bakery there where you can grab tea/coffee, cakes and snacks. The little gift shop by the castle sells handcrafted items. We didn't hear or see any supernatural activity (thankfully) but there is a lot of history to this castle and it is very interesting to read about. The staff are very friendly and attentive, they make you feel right at home. We also got some advice from one of the wardens in the grounds to which walks to do with the children and dog. We were sad to leave and would like to come back later in the year. Room Tip: Room 15 is a family suite but bedrooms back onto the road
Stayed February 2017, travelled with family

“Long Weekend with our two new dogs”
Reviewed 6 February 2017 - 5 stars
Third time to this lovely place. Came in and felt at home straight away. Shown to our room, with a great bathroom. All staff were just the best! Friendly and nothing was to much trouble from drinks at the bar to loading the nice open fires. Food was top notch! real quality! and the 2 twelve week old pups really enjoyed their tasty sausage for breakfast. We know this is not a chain and renovations take time and money. If you want the Hilton Hotel with everything modern and the same as all the other chain hotels then this historic character hotel is not for you! Enjoyed the Hot tub and great views from the rear. Met some very nice people and have booked again for Christmas :@) Hopefully will also be back in the summer. Once again a top stay! I'll be back!
Room Tip: Look on website. Pictures of rooms so you can choose!
Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple

“Perfect for dogs and their owners”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 - 5 stars
We have 2 large dogs, and I hate leaving them in kennels, however, most places that allow dogs always manage to make you feel like you are a second rate guests, with second rate rooms. But not here! From the moment we arrived the dogs were made a fuss of, bowls of water refreshed and clean, sausages and chicken offered to them at breakfast and clean dog beds provided so they can sit with you round the fire.The rooms were lovely and very clean. Although he hotel is under constant renovation and repair, it has a lovely feel and charm and is steeped in history which is displayed around the Castle. If you use your imagination you can see how this place must have been in its prime and I admire the current owners who have a labor of love on their hands to restore it. Grounds and surrounding walks are a haven for dog walkers . Thank you for a lovely stay with 2 very happy dogs and their owners, we will return.
Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple

 
Copyright 2015. All rights reserved.
Back to content | Back to main menu