What other dog owners say about Jack's Dog Friendly Hotel - Dog Friendly Wales

Go to content

Main menu:

Dog's Reviews
________________________________________

Dog Owners' Reviews - 2015
Craig y Nos Castle Dog Friendly B&B
________________________________________
“Magical stay at our Favourite Castle”
Reviewed 29 December 2015 - 5 stars
Another fantastic Christmas stay at Craig Y Nos. I would like to thank all of the staff for their warm welcome to my husband and I and our dogs. We just love staying at the castle and will return time and time again. Wonderful surroundings in a castle steeped with character and history. Food is always top quality with plenty of variety. We especially like the breakfast where our Welsh Collie Blackie is treated to his very own plate of sausages! Loved our room with the power shower. Room Tip: Fantastic place to take your dogs on holiday, we loved it too!!
Stayed December 2015, travelled as a couple

“Short Superb Break”
Reviewed 17 December 2015 - 5 stars
My wife and I booked a two night break to this beutiful location as part of an anniversary celebration. From when we arrived to when we left we both felt it was an excellent choice fo a short break. This stunning place has everything, great food, great friendly helpful staff, beautiful surroundings and are 100% dog friendly. On this occasion we did not take our dog with us, but we have every intention of going back in the spring and take him and ourselves on the many walks around the area. The weather was absolutely awful, but that did not dampen our sprirts. Craig-y-nos is steeped in history and reputed to be the most haunted castle in Wales. Sadly we did not experience anything, but I have no doubt that people do experinece things. I highly recommend this stunning location and from what we have seen if anyone is looking for an ideal wedding venue, then this is the place to go. Thank you to all the staff at Craig-y-nos for making our short visit so enjoyable. See you in the Spring
Stayed December 2015, travelled as a couple

“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 10 December 2015 - 5 stars
The food in Craig Y Nos is outstanding, it is worth a visit just to taste their evening meals. We took our little dog Guto Hari along with us, and he had a fab time, sitting in front of the fire, getting pats of everyone, and having sausages for breakfast. The walks in the country park are great too, we are not big walkers, but wee found enough routes to enjoy and to keep Guto Hari satisfied. The Castle Tour is worth doing - especially as it is free, the lady that took us around is very passionate about Craig Y Nos and Madam Patti, and the history is incredible. Would love to stay again, thank you for the restful, peaceful break.
Stayed December 2015, travelled as a couple

“A perfect stay”
Reviewed 3 December 2015 - 5 stars
A wonderful location to get away from it all. The hotel is pet friendly and they have got the balance just right if you don't like dogs. They are only allowed in certain areas, but you can have your meals in The Patti Bar if you wish to have your dog with you as we did. Dogs are not allowed in the main restaurant. The quality of the food was excellent, with a menu to satisfy most. The breakfast will set you up for the day if you wish to take advantage of the varied walks available. The area behind the hotel has a country park so you are not far from the great outdoors. Staff were very friendly, particularly Wendy, and we would recommend going on the castle tour if you stay here. Looking forward to returning in the future.
Stayed November 2015, travelled as a couple

“Dog friendly Castle”
Reviewed 2 December 2015 - 5 stars
A condition of all our breaks away is that the accommodation has to be Dog Friendly. This is probably the 'most' dog friendly place that we have stayed, yet the clean rooms did not give this away. Dogs shared the dining room for breakfast, dinner and evening beer, with large dog beds available to pull up next to the table. The staff were so pet oriented that they even handed out little plates of sausages for them. We were so impressed with the location and service that we received that we immediately recommended to a dog walking buddy, who likewise found this place fantastic. The castle stands in its own grounds adjacent to and with easy access to the country park.
Room Tip: Dog friendly rooms are on the ground floor away from the main building.
Stayed July 2015, travelled as a couple

“Wonderful Getaway!”
Reviewed 24 November 2015  - 5 stars
We stayed 2 weeks ago on a dog friendly midweek 3 night special on a B&B basis. The room was great with a lounge so plenty of room for us and our 2 dogs. Lovely grounds and country park within walking distance from the castle. Unfortunately it rained a lot whilst we were there so we didn't get to explore as much as we might have done otherwise, but on the plus side it made for a lovely relaxing break. No phone signal or WiFi in the room, but WiFi in the lounge and bar where the dogs were made to feel very welcome. All dogs get a sausage in the morning too! The buffet breakfast was lovely and because of the weather we ended up eating at the Castle on the first night, the meal was so good we ate there on our 2nd night too and will definitely consider the DB&B option next time (oh yes, definitely going back). We had 1 good weather day and took a drive to the Mumbles and toured the coast, can highly recommend Langland Bay for a dog friendly beach, Mumbles was a bit rocky. Special shout out to dog friendly Cafe Restaurant "The Mermaid" down by the Mumbles, which let us inside for a drink and a meal, out of the wind, with the dogs. The castle is full of charm and some areas are still under renovation, I found the history folder in the room particularly interesting. They do a tour which we didn't go on as dogs are not able to attend this activity, but by all accounts it is a very interesting walk. The staff are very friendly and helpful and even managed to supply us with 2 dog bowls as we somehow lost ours off the roof of the car when we left our home - oops!
Stayed November 2015, travelled as a couple

“Mesmerising place,full of intrigue,interest and fascinating history.”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 - 4 out of 5 stars
We chose this place for its area( good for walks) and because it was dog friendly. We found it more than came up to our expectations. We were made really welcome and our dog was allowed to eat with us ( as we're all dogs staying there) Every morning Floyd had a sausage brought to him for breakfast and was made a fuss of. The staff seemed really happy to be involved with the castle and they were all more like a happy family,very loyal I felt to the place. I can see why. I felt there was something very special about its history and the people who have played a part in it. Certainly the life of Adelia Pattie who lived there for 49 years or so was captivating. Adored the historic tour around the still dilapidated upper floors. Will look forward to returning. Excellent food . A very relaxing stay.praise to the owner and all the staff for their dedication and love of this place! Ps there was a plastic sheet on our bed which we had to remove as got too hot. That's the only thing that didn't suit me.
Stayed November 2015, travelled as a couple

“Fantastic Dog Friendly Castle with a very interesting history & presence.”
Reviewed 12 November 2015  - 5 stars
We stayed for 2 nights  - 5 stars
As you would expect the Castle is in need of repair, however a large amount of this work has been carried out and the rest is ongoing. This work does not invade your stay and is hardly noticeable. The rooms are clean & tidy. The staff are all friendly and welcoming, and a big thank you to Vicky who served us at the bar until the early hours, and was to be seen the following morning at breakfast bright and cheerfull. (Unlike us)!!! A great experience to stay in this wonderful friendly place. Lovely walks around the Castle, in the grounds and beyond. If you have a dog, you don't need to get into the car to take for lovely walks. We will certainly return, and would recommend a stay at this wonderful castle to anyone. A big thank you to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.
Room Tip: Rooms in the courtyard are quiet and great if you have dogs.
Stayed October 2015, travelled as a couple

“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 9 November 2015 via mobile - 4 out of 5 stars
We booked an overnight stay at Craig Y Nos Castle via Groupon that included an evening meal and breakfast.
We checked in at 3pm, and decided to have a few drinks in Patti's bar before getting ready for our meal. As we walked in we were greeted by 3 dogs. Not knowing this hotel was a dog friendly hotel, we were over the moon and so was my daughter! She was even more excited to also see the resident cat, fluffy! Now i understand that some people wouldn't appreciate dogs roaming freely in the hotel but as a dog loving family this was a real treat.
We got to our room, an adequate size, immaculately clean and pristine bathroom with a gorgeous big roll top freestanding bath.
We went for our evening meal and had it in Patti's bar due to the fabulous log burner, cosy ambience and Tom Jones on the CD player! And obviously the dogs! My daughter wouldn't leave them!
We had a 3 course meal (main meal was included in Groupon voucher) and the food was delicious. The steak was cooked to perfection and The drinks were very reasonable too. One of the best things about our stay had to be the staff. They were above and beyond friendly and accommodating and really made a fuss of my 1 year old which went a long way. The only negative about our stay was the bed, it was quite uncomfortable and both me and my husband didn't have the best of sleeps. However the breakfast more than made up for that. Self serve, plentiful and delicious! Also lovely to see the same friendly staff (and the dogs! ) As the previous evening. Overall a fantastic overnight stay and am hoping there will be other Groupon offers for the castle in the future
Stayed November 2015, travelled with family

“Perfect for dogs and humans!”
Reviewed 1 November 2015  - 5 stars
Just returned from a stay at Craig-y-nos. Within a very short space of time this place gets under your skin. On arrival, the magnificence of the building with the brooding autumnal skies behind it blew us away.Forget it if you want 5-star luxury. But if instead of that generic, anonymous 5-star approach you want honest individuality, where every member of staff is unfailingly friendly and helpful, and your dog is not only accepted but welcomed with open arms, Craig-y-nos will delight you. Your dog is welcome to accompany you throughout most public areas of the castle, so you can take him/her to breakfast & dinner with you, they stay in your room with you and the staff will happily provide a bed for them to lay on in the bar while you have your meal. There were many other dogs there during our stay, and all of them behaved calmly and impeccably. Perhaps the relaxed and friendly approach of the staff communicates itself to the dogs, and to the owners, and there is no stress or friction. The breakfast sausage was a lovely touch! From the castle you can walk out the back into the country park where your dog can enjoy a riverside walk off lead, and you can go directly into the Brecon Beacons National Park if you wish. Alternatively, as other reviewers have mentioned, a short hop in the car will unlock magnificent walks, waterfalls, reservoirs and stunning mountain scenery with interesting flora and fauna. The hearty breakfasts and dinners at the castle were really lovely, and I can also recommend the landlord's welcome, delicious food and generous portions at the Ancient Briton down the road. On reflection, I think that perhaps what sets Craig-y-nos apart is that it assimilates you, once you are there you become a part of the everyday life of the castle, you interact not only with your own companions and the staff, but also engage with the other guests staying there and with their dogs.It's not just a place to eat and sleep. Our dog is 15 years old, and has been on many holidays in her time but this one is right up there with the very best of them. And of course if the dog is happy, then we are happy! Thank you so much to the owners for making this place available, and to all the staff who are so passionate about what they do, good luck with this ongoing venture, I do hope it continues to delight guests for many years to come.
Stayed October 2015, travelled as a couple

“Lovely place!”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 - 5 stars
Second visit after two years. Sometimes it's disappointing returning to a hotel you particularly liked but it somehow managed to be even better in the colder months than it was in the summer due to the cosy log burners in the lounges. Staff are so friendly and helpful. Even though we took our huge hair shedding slobbery Saint Bernard/newf cross with us they managed to keep everywhere spotless. Will be back next year for sure. The tour is a must if you want to know the history of the house ( and I don't how you can stay there and not want to know all about it).
Stayed October 2015, travelled with friends

“Fantastic stay!”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 via mobile - 5 stars
Just back from a 3 day stay at Craig-y-nos with my partner and dog. Upon arrival castle was spectacular and surrounded by gorgeous scenery. After expecting the rooms to be dated and in need of some TLC we were amazed by the standard and size of our room, even with a throw and towel on the spare bed for the dog. Evening meal and breakfast were great, beautiful Welsh cakes. Could not ask for lovelier and more attentive staff, they really make the stay! I have never experienced anywhere that make dogs feel so welcomed-from constant fusses and sausages for breakfast. Ours really made herself at home, especially loving the super sized back garden that is the national park. It really is the ideal place for anyone wanting to take their dog on holiday, we will definitely be back!
Stayed October 2015, travelled as a couple

“A dog and wheelchair friendly gem!!!”
Reviewed 24 October 2015 - 5 stars
So many plus points, above all, finding a hotel that took both dogs and disability in its stride, so welcoming and obvious attention to detail. Historic buildings inevitably have access issues, so main entrance to a castle, flight of stone steps ( I fully expected to be entering through a service door at the back) but no, there appeared the most impressive ramp we have seen which remained throughout our stay giving me easy, independent access at all times. The same standard of design applied to our room with easy manoeuvrability between the furniture,and an excellent wet room. Charming and attentive staff, good food and a friendly atmosphere made it special. Not forgetting our dogs, two retrievers, father and son, the 10month old in training to be my third Assistance Dog!! Their reward for good behaviour in the dining area was the adjacent Country Park which was 'doggy heaven!!' Clear, fast- flowing stream, acres of woodland to explore and surfaced paths so we enjoyed long walks altogether, surrounded by wonderful scenery, skyline of sunlit mountains with all the Autumn colours. We will definitely return!
Stayed October 2015, travelled as a couple


“An amazing story”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 - 5 stars
Before I start, I must impress on all who are booking to stay at this wonderful hotel, to go on the hotel history tour as early into their stay as possible, so that they understand what they are staying in. The new owner and his fantastic team are working serious miracles on this marvellous building. Craig-y-Nos Castle is snuggled amongst the hills of the Brecon Beacons, in one of the most dramatic and beautiful regions of countryside in the UK. On the day that we arrived at the hotel, I accidentally found myself in the incredibly beautiful theatre, at which point I knew there was more to this hotel than met the eye. My husband and I felt that £380 was pushing the top end of what we were comfortable paying, for a three day trip away, except that we were pretty much in a suite. We just assumed that the Castle was owned by a hotel conglomerate (not having done our homework). We didn't realize that the current owner had taken on an almost bottomless pit of costs of renovation and upkeep. It would appear, that after 15 years, he is finally getting the better of the project, as I was assured by a member of staff that it was finally starting to pay for itself.

We didn't realize when we criticised the slightly narrow single beds and the old fashioned cathode ray tube TV, that the room had probably been a bit of a bomb site just a few years ago. We didn't realize when we criticised the poor paint work in the main building, and the rather tired looking furniture and trims in the main restaurant, that the wonderful Grade I listed building with solid granite walls had pretty much been left to go derelict a few years earlier, and try as he might, the owner obviously had a limited budget to cope with the pervasive damp that permanently creeps through the castle walls, causing all paint work to need re-painting every year. Going upstairs on the tour gave us real insight to the enormity of the project he had taken on. Taken for what it is, this wonderful hotel oozes character.

The staff are wonderful (especially given the exceptionally long hours that most of them work, each taking on multiple job roles within the hotel). Driving through the area, one realizes that there are no large towns close by, so it can't be easy taking on staff. We found that even the local pubs don't serve food every night, the area is so sparsely populated. In fact, the one that we found that did serve food on our visit, said they stopped serving at 7.45pm (I was quite sure I had misheard him, coming as we do, from south London). Talking of food, frankly one doesn't need to eat anywhere except at the hotel. The dinners that we had were wonderfully cooked and very tasty. Prices quite reasonable. Although, if you get cold easily, you might want to wrap up before going down to dinner. The dining area is in two very large rooms with extremely high ceilings - a couple of log burners and radiators try very hard to warm the rooms, but fail somewhat. We reserved a table right next to the fire each night, and my husband gradually edged the table closer and closer to the fire, until he started to get nice and toasty.

We saw plenty of folks with their dogs, eating dinner in the bar, which was nice. Dog owners are very welcome. In fact, given it's location, it is perfect for walkers. We drove just 5 minutes up the road to a most dramatic walk up a hillside to a couple of mountain lakes, following a beautiful stream with waterfalls all along it. Reception have a collection of printed walks that you can chose from. Also, there is are many spectacular caving opportunities locally. I've never done it before, but I may just enrol on a course in the not too distant future. The other aspect of the hotel that I enjoyed, is that there is no Wifi there - my phone signal was virtually non-existent, and most rooms don't have a TV signal (although DVDs are on offer to borrow from the hotel library). What a great excuse to do no work and fully get away from it all. I'm rather pleased that I didn't have any close encounters with the local ghosts. But the hauntings certainly added another dimension to the stay. In closing, I would say that with all it's quirkiness. It is not a cheap break away, although if you time it right, there are great bargains on offer, through Groupon, and the hotel itself, if you are happy to take a standard room. But it is worth every penny, and I am very much looking forward to returning.
Stayed October 2015, travelled as a couple

“dog friendly hotel”
Reviewed 17 October 2015 - 5 stars
Midweek break at Craig y Nos with 4 dogs. We had a really enjoyable visit to the Hotel, the staff were fantastic and their attitude so so good to visitors with dogs. Really interesting history to the hotel including an excellent guided tour and we feel that every effort was made to make our visit enjoyable. The hotel exuded genuine charm and character and we will definitely return in the near future. The surrounding area is superb for walks with dogs. Linda & Gerald
Stayed October 2015, travelled as a couple

“A great dog friendly adventure ”
Reviewed 17 October 2015 via mobile - 5 stars
We loved our visit to Craig-y-nos castle! The staff were so friendly and welcoming. The grounds were beautiful and perfect for puppy walking. The food was great and it was so nice to be able to take our puppy with us for meals in the patti bar. This really is a dog friendly castle and we will definitely be returning. It was a home from home and we loved it! Such a beautiful part of the world and a good base to explore! We would recommend to fellow dog lovers
Stayed October 2015, travelled as a couple

Oh I love this place! Steeped in history!”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 - 5 stars
We had a lovely big room! The history of the castle is very interesting as it belonged to an opera singer in Queen Victoria's time, hence the theatre. There is a tour you can take which I recommend as its history is fascinating. The castle is a working progress and renovation work is taking place to create more rooms and a lovely bridal suite. But this is discreet and does not impact on your visit. The staff were so helpful and friendly, In fact it felt very homely. It is dog friendly which I loved even though I haven't a dog! They were so well behaved! I enjoyed the food and the staff are very accommodating. I cannot believe this place does not get any government funding as it is a treasure!
Stayed October 2015, travelled with family

“Nice relaxing break dog friendly”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 via mobile - 5 stars
Just spent 2 nights at the castle. We have stayed before. Everyone at the castle was very friendly. The room was spacious, comfortable with a very nice ensure. Dogs are very welcome and get a sausage for breakfast. The grounds are lovely to walk around and has the river Tawe running through it. Lots of walks available and the staff will print walks off for you on request. The Craig y Nos country park is right next to the castle and is lovely. Bob the photographer takes very good pictures for a very modest price.
Ideal place to take mans best friend and we look forward to going back. Friendly. Room was very comfy and clean very comfortable and clean. Lots of places nearby to walk your dog
Stayed September 2015, travelled as a couple

“Loved it!”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 via mobile - 5 stars
In August 2015 we booked to stay at the castle for three nights. From the booking of the hotel I found the reception staff utterly charming, (Claire was our main point of contact) they were helpful and nothing seemed to be a hassle if we asked.
On booking in we were directed to our room (theatre loft) we knew that the castle was a labour of love and would not be up to the standard of you generic chained hotels, yes it was a little rough around the edges but in my opinion that just added to the charm.
On arriving at our room we were so surprised at how lovely and quaint our room was, it had a lovely modern shower room and we found the room in a good level of cleanliness.

I love the fact people can take their dogs. The breakfast was really lovely and nothing was any trouble if you asked. The history tour was fantastic and the lady who took the tour was great, very informative.we got talking to other guest on the tour which made it so pleasant when we saw them during the rest of our stay. The castle is just along the road from the caves (brilliant day out, well worth the money) I'm normally a very fussy person (cleanliness, food etc etc) with a very demanding good in this sector but I found that I was able to relax (lack of wifi and phone signal for me was a blessing) again if you are looking for a generic 5* hotel, then this may not be the place but if you are looking for a lovely, friendly well managed hotel then this is your place. I loved the fact you can pick or choose if you want housekeeping in, this just added to the privacy and relaxation of our stay. If I had to pick a negative it would have to be all of the wedding pictures on the walls and Buisness cards etc on the beautiful unit in reception.
Stayed August 2015, travelled as a couple

“Another great stay at this Hotel”
Reviewed 19 September 2015 - 5 stars
Just returned from another quick trip around south/mid Wales. The highlight being our 3 nights stay at Graig y nos. This time we stayed in the TGL en suite room, ideal as we have two dogs who we could let out directly into the grounds without accessing any stairs ! The room and been recently refurbished and was a good size, warm and welcoming. There is one constructive suggestion I could make, have a couple of coat hooks on the back of the Bedroom door so we could hang our coats when entering the room, especially if wet, and a further two hooks on the bathroom door where you could hang your clothes/towel when showering. Small details I know but quite important. All the staff were brilliant as usual and it would be unfair to name anyone, however Wendy and Vicky were absolutely brilliant !! A big thank you to them both as they were so attentive it made us and the dogs feel very welcome. The food was good, as usual, well cooked and presented along with great service. Definitely return again either later this year or early next year so have the sausages ready for the dogs breakfast Wendy !!
Room Tip: Ground floor if you are taking dogs

Mad Dogs and Englishmen Welcome Here!”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 - 4 out of 5 stars
We have just returned from a great break with our two English Springer Spaniels. The welcome we received was great and the staff are just lovely. Breakfast is one of the best I've ever had in a B&B or hotel and made us wonder how they ever make any money! Location is excellent for dog walks or exploring, lots of things to discover and do. Our only criticism would be the sofa bed in our living room which was not very comfortable to sit on as a sofa. Otherwise the accommodation was lovely and clean and the bed really comfortable.
Stayed September 2015, travelled as a couple

“Dog-brilliant!!!! ”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 via mobile - 5 stars
We've just got home this afternoon from 3 nights at Craig-y-nos Castle and we wanted to say a big thank you for our stay there! My boyfriend and I have an 8 month old border collie called Arthur and it was his second holiday away since getting him at 3 months old. This place is just fantastic for dogs and their owners. Dogs are made a huge fuss of including staff remembering their names, they get sausages for breakfast and the grounds and surrounding countryside is excellent for dog walking. For owners - the place is very friendly, warm and comfortable with a fabulous breakfast to set you up for a days exploring with your four legged friend. All of us can't wait to go back again (next year) and do some more exploring.
Stayed September 2015, travelled as a couple

“Fantastic Break”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 - 5 stars
Everything about our stay was perfect. Castle and its History was fascinating, Staff were very friendly and helpful. Our Dog Otis was made to feel welcome and so made us feel very comfortable in and around the Castle and Grounds. Our room and bathroom were fantastic and we booked an extra night as we felt so relaxed. The Breakfast and Evening Meals were very good and the Service was Wonderful. We enjoyed the walks inside the Catle Grounds and The National Park and kept finding new places of interest. We will definately be back next year and would like to thank everyone for their hospitality. We have already recommended our friends and family to stay with you. Room Tip: Ring the Hotel Direct to discuss your requirements as all rooms are different.
Stayed September 2015, travelled as a couple

“Two Doggy heaven.”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 - 4 out of 5 stars
Each year we take our 2 dogs on their doggy holiday. This Sept. we travelled to Craig y Nos Hotel in the Brecon Beacons for 2 nights. On arrival we checked in ( no extra charge for the 2 dogs) and were delighted to be on the ground floor with access to our own garden. Exploring the woods, river and fields at the rear of the property - direct access to the Brecon Beacon reserve, with no roads to cross, our dogs roamed freely off lead. Evening meal was taken at the Castle where dogs are welcome in all rooms, they can have their meals with you. Breakfast was buffet style with everything one could want. Mumbles has lovely beaches and we spent the next day there. The Information centre serves a lovely cream tea, it is next door to the castle, the caves are not too far away for families to explore. This is a great wedding venue and it has special offers. Everyone we spoke to thought all the staff were very friendly and it's a special place to spend a break with our dogs. Room Tip: Discuss your needs when you book as all rooms are quaintly different.
Stayed September 2015, travelled as a couple

“Great staff,fantastic castle”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 - 5 stars
Lovely clean room And just as expected. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I was made To feel very welcome with my dog for 1night. Beautiful castle but not a luxury hotel but that's not what it says it is so I wasn't expecting that. Lovely park on your doorstep to walk round with your dog. I would thoroughly recommend a stay here with your dog.
Stayed August 2015

“Dog friendly hotel”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 - 5 stars
We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the castle. The main reason we chose to book was because we were looking for a dog friendly hotel in South Wales. The castle did not disappoint! The friendly relaxed atmosphere really suited us. The castle & surrounding area is stunning. Plenty of lovely walks for our dog, Jack, & lovely that he could join us for meals! Great to see so many other dog owners doing the same. We found the History Tour fascinating, and hope that all the exciting plans to continue the restoration of this beautiful building can be realised. All the staff are excellent and very friendly, especially Vicky, who took the trouble to decorate the table for our evening meal on my birthday. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to get away from it all for few days. We have arrived home feeling refreshed.
Stayed August 2015, travelled as a couple

“Great trip ”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 via mobile - 5 stars
After reading some of previous reviews we booked with some Trepidation . However on arrival. We realised there was nothing to worry about . We were greeted by friendly staff on reception , Booking in was easy and were shown to our room straight away. Yes the accommodation is not five star but when you have two dogs one being a large long haired German Shepherd i wouldn't want to be met by cream carpets and luxurious bedding. The bedding towels and en suite shower were all clean and totally adequate for a short three day stay. This hotel is so dog friendly it makes for a very relaxing stay . The food is very good and if you are Celiac like my husband it is well catered for without a problem. Eating on the bar area with your dogs is not a problem and a plate of sausages awaits them at breakfast. All the waiting on staff are extremely helpful and friendly. But a special thank you to Vicky who went out of her way to make our stay especially pleasant. We met some lovely people and even ended up with wedding cake and a favour off the table from the family who's wedding was taking place that day. I have nothing but praise for Craig y Nos we will be going back.
Stayed August 2015, travelled as a couple

“Doggie holiday”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 - 4 out of 5 stars
We stayed with our labrador. We enjoyed the beautifully kept grounds of the castle - the lawns and planting are gorgeous. Our dog had an absolutely wonderful time running offlead and swimming in the country park adjoining the castle, and on walks further afield. The breakfast was plentiful. We had a large room and a basic but spacious bathroom. The room did have a slight canine odour - but that was expected! We found the staff very welcoming and friendly, to us and our dog. We had a couple of nice days out, exploring some of the local towns. We ate in some lovely dog friendly pubs closeby, as well as in the castle. Overall a very nice doggy holiday.
Stayed August 2015, travelled as a couple

“First Visit”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 - 5 stars
The room was clean and bright - and we spent a pleasant two day break at the castle with our two small dogs. The staff were helpful and the meals (breakfast and dinner) were very good. The surroundings are beautiful and all guests seemed to be enjoying their stay. We will certainly return (with our dogs) for another break.

“Second visit”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 - 5 stars
Enjoyed our previous visit so a case of 'here we go again' would it disappoint? The answer is no this is a place that is ideal with dogs most of the other guests have dogs and it creates a most comfortable atmosphere for owners and dogs. The staff are most accommodating/polite making the visit a pleasure,the room was clean the decor around the castle may be worn but it suits the character of the building a modernistic style I think would spoil the character.
Stayed August 2015, travelled as a couple

“lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 - 5 stars
My partner and I stayed here for a 2 night midweek break with our dog. It was a very reasonably priced stay with a eat as much as you like breakfast included (plus a sausage for the dog!). We also ate in the restaurant both nights - a good selection of starters, mains and desserts at good prices and an area was set aside if you wished to eat with your dog. A separate restaurant was available for other guests. The staff were so friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The castle itself is beautiful and right next door to the country park so you could stroll along the river after a meal. Our room, theatre left, was an old dressing room for the beautiful theatre just up the corridor. It was well decorated and the shower was amazing. Also, it opened straight out into the garden so ideal for taking the dog out. We are already planning to stay again as we didn't do the tour of the castle or use the gym/spa.
Stayed August 2015, travelled as a couple

“A wonderful dog friendly castle”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 - 4 out of 5 stars
Like going back in time, old castle, lots of history, very warming, extremely friendly staff. Everything you would want for a dog friendly holiday. Dogs can go anywhere in the castle. There are so many walks within and around the area

“Short Break”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 - 4 out of 5 stars
Just back from a two night stay at this hotel, it is a very old castle and is having some renovation done, it is looking a little shabby, but is clean and a little quirky, our room was small but clean and it had a lovely en-suite shower room, we had dinner and breakfast both were very good, the breakfast was a buffet and had everything you would need, we had dinner in the bar because we had our dog with us, and the meals were served by very friendly waitresses, our dog was welcomed and made a fuss of, the weather was terrible but we enjoyed our stay anyway.
Stayed July 2015, travelled as a couple

“4 night break”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 - 4 out of 5 stars
My mum, myself and my two dogs just spent a very nice 4 nights here. It is exactly what they say it is, 3* accommodation. You must remember that this Castle is privately owned and the owner does all the maintenance work himself without a grant. The staff are friendly, the rooms are clean and it is extremely dog friendly. If you want luxury accommodation go to your Hilton chain but if you like something more down to earth with a lovely charm in beautiful surroundings and enjoy walking then this is a must, especially if you have dogs! Room Tip: If you have dogs book one of the theatre rooms, they lead out directly onto a garden
Stayed July 2015, travelled with family

“Amazing dog friendy gothic castle bordering on Brecon Beacons National Park”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 - 4 out of 5 stars
We stayed here one night in July on our way down to Gower for a short break. We chose the place because it was dog friendly and had access to both the Brecon Beacons National Park and Craig-y-Nos Country Park. The castle itself is amazing, beautiful but eerie gothic creation. It's very dog-friendly, dogs are pampered here as much as the guests. The setting is lovely, the hotel has its own grounds at the rear accessed through the back gate with a small river and large pool which your dog can swim in. If you walk further you find yourself in the Brecon Beacons National Park. Over the road is the Dan-yr-Ogof Caves (National Showcaves Centre). The staff were really friendly. Dogs are allowed in the Patti Bar and they even have dog cushions that you can have by your table whilst you eat. The menu is a little limited but that is more than made up for by the lovely environment. And in the morning our dog had a sausage for breakfast! Room Tip: We had a ground floor room in the nurses wing, AB11 I think, lovely big room with extra bed.
Stayed July 2015, travelled as a couple

“Even better than we dared hope”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 - 5 stars
We were looking for accommodation that would accept a dog and found Craig y nos in the search results. It sounded too good to be true, a fascinating building in pretty surroundings where dogs were welcomed. We were nervous that we would be disappointed. We weren't. Our accommodation was of a high standard, clean and comfortable. We stayed for five nights and housekeeping, clean linen etc. was quickly provided on request. The main building is a work in progress with many parts not yet usable but the public dining and lounge areas have a welcoming feel. We considered awarding four stars due to the small imperfections but realised that this would be a disservice to the castle's main assets, the unfailingly helpful and cheerful staff and the stunning setting of the grounds and adjacent national park. We are going back soon.
Stayed June 2015, travelled with family

“Dog friendly holiday”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 - 5 stars
As a Family we were looking for a dog friendly short break in Wales. We came across Craig Y Nos Castle and immediately agreed it was the one for us. The Castle is such a lovely building with so much history. We stayed for 2 nights B&B with our Son and dog in the Gate House. The rooms were very clean and all facilities were well provisioned. There was lots of choice for breakfast and evening meals. All the food was very tasty. As well as a well stocked bar. The Staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. The dog was not excluded from being with us in the Castle and was treated like one of the family. The grounds are fantastic to walk the dog in, she especially enjoyed the water. We went on the history tour of the Castle which was very interesting and well worth it. The are plenty of places to visit in the area. We would highly recommend Craig Y Nos Castle and will no doubt visit again.
Stayed June 2015, travelled with family

“A beautiful gem hidden in the Welsh countryside.”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 - 5 stars
My husband and I decided to take the dogs for a mid week break so we booked into this place as it was the first hotel that came up on Google when I typed in "dog friendly hotels". I can defiantly say we will be going back there. The building was beautiful, the staff were very friendly and the dogs were made to feel like valued guests. The hotel did not charge for the dogs to stay (unlike most places) and they even cooked them some sausages for breakfast. The hotel has a bar/restaurant area just for the guests with dogs and even the guests without dogs would eat in this area (rather than the dog free zone) as the room was so cosy and all the dogs made it a very sociably place to sit and chill. My labradoodle Max was super thrilled that the resident cat allowed him to sniff her. He has wanted to get up close and personal to a cat for years but has never had the chance. The food in the hotel was delicious. I always say that you can tell a lot about a place by looking at their salad. and their salad was proper de-lish.The rooms were extremely spacious. I was shocked to discover that they also have Sky TV in the room. I took my Game of thrones book to read whilst away, but the hotel provides booklets with information all about the history of the castle. So I was glued to that instead. The owner also writes about their journey of restoration since ownership. This made the castle even more impressive as you could see how hard they are working to restore the place to it's former glory. The hotel provided our room with plenty of tea, coffee, sugar and mugs which is always a bonus. Alas, I didn't see no ghosts. I was in room 31. Apparently room 36 is the haunted room and I must say I did cack 'em when walking passed that room in the evening. And so did my husband. He refused to use that route for the rest of the stay. Next time I book there I am tempted to request that room. The hotel also provides a free tour of the castle. The bed was very comfortable, the rooms were very clean and it was a very relaxing atmosphere at the castle. I would thoroughly recommend this place, especially for dog owners as my boys had heck of a time. I am already looking forward to my next visit.
Room Tip: room 36 is haunted
Stayed July 2015, travelled as a couple

“Brilliant dog friendly accommodation, I would recommend to those with out dogs too.”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile - 5 stars
Excellent value. Beautiful location and accommodation. Food was good (here's where the 5th star is missing) as is was not the best value, though on reflection I might be being far too picky and I've add a the muddying star. This is my only 5 star review out of more than 100. Friendly staff etc.
We will be visiting again. God luck with the continued renovations.
Stayed July 2015, travelled as a couple

“interesting and comfortable”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 - 5 stars
Reading some of the reviews prior to this, I find them quite harsh. We stayed for 3 nights at the end of May, and had our dog too. From the outside the castle is amazing, beautiful building and grounds, and yes inside is a bit tired looking and in need of repair. But if you take time to read the information in the rooms you will understand the reasons behind it. We ate at the hotel every evening, not exactly through choice, we do like to eat in different places, but there was nowhere nearby that would allow us to take our dog in (which we found extremely irritating and surprising considering this is the heart of walkers country). Our meals were hot, plentiful and sufficient. My husband is a vegetarian and he had lovely meals too, often we find he is give a sad looking salad or something overly spicy. We found all the staff extremely helpful and friendly at all times. This is a dog friendly hotel, and people should be aware of that. Yes there was dog beds around, because of that. But better dog beds than dogs on the furniture? It was frustrating that there was no wifi in the rooms, but again if the previous residents had read the information in the room, this was also explained. This is not the first hotel we have stayed in without wifi, some 4 star hotels don't have wifi in the bedrooms There is a tour available of the hotel but this is mid morning for an hour and half and we did not have time, but should we stay again (and we would have no hesitation in staying here again if in the area) then we would schedule our activities so we can do the tour. Room Tip: if you need internet connection in your room, take a laptop or a device that can be connected via (telephone).
Stayed May 2015, travelled as a couple

“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile - 5 stars
We have just returned from 3 nights stay and had a fantastic, relaxed break. My two boys (dogs) had a great time with plenty of walks and paddles in the river. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. All the staff here are friendly, happy, helpful and nothing is too much trouble. They are of course also all dog lovers. We thoroughly enjoyed the tour of the castle with Nicole and Sarah at breakfast was always willing to recommend places of interest to visit. You must visit three cliffs beach, beautiful.
High praise goes to the chef because our meals were lovely. Plenty of choice at breakfast. Sorry we never got your name! Perfect location and history of the building made this an ideal choice for us. Thank you Craig - Y - Nos castle
Stayed July 2015, travelled as a couple


“Enjoyable Stay at Craig y Nos”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 - 5 stars
We had such an enjoyable stay at the Castle. We were made very welcome by everyone. Our room was perfect with comfortable and roomy en suite. Our dog Ruby came with us and there were no restrictions (except dining room & tour of Castle) on her. She went everywhere with us. We felt there was freedom and no rules really to abide to. Our food was perfect and plenty of it! The tour was most interesting. We know all about the history of the Castle and the wonderful Adelina Patti - the today's Madonna! I've already said it somewhere else (?!) but it wasn't just a holiday but an education as well! The Brecon Country Park was just next door and we had some lovely walks there (Ruby's heaven!). We will definitely be going to Craig y Nos again, hopefully this year. I know more refurbishment and work is planned for the Castle and we really look forward to seeing that in the future. Room Tip: If your dog accompanies you my advice is to ask for ground floor room although we and our dog manage...
Stayed June 2015, travelled with family

“Another great visit”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 - 4 out of 5 stars
We had a 3 night break, our 2nd visit to this interesting place. We love the fact that our dog can accompany us at breakfast and dinner and that the lovely country park is right on the doorstep with plenty of other walks in the area. The staff are always friendly and helpful, especially Vicky who seemed to be forever making sure all the guests were happy and had everything they needed, sometimes under challenging conditions! We stayed in the theatre loft this time and with reasonable weather, we found the room a little warm, it was very clean though and had a nice modern shower room. We found the food to be the same quality as last year, so its good to see consistency and of course,the dogs still get a sausage at breakfast! We will be going back again because we like what they are doing and appreciate that not all the decor is tip top and that it requires a lot of investment in time and money, nice to see the self catering room is coming along nicely.
Stayed May 2015, travelled as a couple

Great Dog friendly hotel”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 - 5 stars
Isn't it lovely how instantly friendly people are when you have a dog with you? Of course there are some who don't understand dogs and this hotel perhaps isn't for them, as there are just so many around that it is difficult to ignore them. There are also folks who don't understand a 'work in progress' property and still expect everything to be 5 star. To me it felt like home - comfortable and relaxed. We met some lovely people (and their dogs), some who had visited many times. We ate at the hotel in the evenings and the meals were very reasonable. Looking forward to going back.
Stayed May 2015, travelled as a couple

“As long as you have good company and an open mind you will enjoy yourself!!”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 - 4 out of 5 stars
Stayed here in January this year with my boyfriend and 8 month old gsd puppy. Booked for a two night stay - originally in the non en-suite rooms due to a wedding on the first night. We weren't bothered about the fact that the toilet was next door, however, the room we were in was very basic - no tv, tired walls and wires sticking out the windows. The next morning at breakfast we payed extra to move rooms to an ensuite room which was amazing, massive comfy bed, clean bathroom and a t.v!   Breakfast was good each morning, staff helpful. Eat food in the hotel on 2 nights, basic food and enjoyable. Good value for money.  Loved all the walks surrounding the hotel and so did our dog! We were even lucky enough to stay during the snow! So much so, we even extended our stay for another night. Would highly recommend the Pen y Cae inn for food! Really friendy and helpful staff and amazing food - unlike the Ancient Brit, which we unfortunately stopped at for a drink before leaving due to extremely rude staff!!  Overall, we really enjoyed our long weekend stay and would return to Craig y Nos!! We would recommend it, as long as you don't go there with high expectations of a 5 star hotel!
Stayed January 2015, travelled as a couple

A wonderful stay”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 - 5 stars
We went back to this lovely castle for a second time, again the staff were very friendly and welcomed us warmly. We took our dog again and was very surprised how he remembered the layout of the place and was very relaxed and happy. The castle offers good food, ghost tours, spa etc, wonderful grounds to stroll around and more. The surrounding area has fantastic history and loads of castle ruins to visit, with beautiful walks.
If you were looking for the negative, there was a little dust, but the fact that the castle is being renovated in areas, this is to be expected. The castle is rumoured to be haunted and we did have a couple of unexplained incidents, but there is such a lovely feel in the place, we cannot wait to visit again and intend to do so each year. Mr& Mrs Morris
Stayed May 2015, travelled as a couple

“Great Location !!”
Reviewed 29 May 2015
Just got back from this Hotel !! and what a great time we had !! One thing to remember when visiting this Castle is that it is old !! and like all old things it could do with a bit of work here and there!! The location and is great ! We took our large Chocolate Labrador with us and we were all made very welcome by the Staff !! The grounds are a dogs paradise with a river 200 yards from the room. the river is very safe and shallow but what a great place. At the back of the hotel is its own Arboretum and that was great to see. Our room was in the theatre block and was room TGR, the room was a bit cramped with a double bed and a single bed ! the bathroom WOW it had a all singing and dancing shower cubical the only thing was i didnt want to get out !!! a big plus side for us was the fact that we had doors that opened out in to the garden easy for the dog to go out !! I would advise anybody staying their to take the castle tour its free and very worth while !!  The Bar even put out dog matts so your dog can be with you for a pint or two !!  I only have two small bits of criticism and that is a map of the castle where every thing is could be very useful when first visiting the place could be put on the back of the information sheet. and 2, Some decent Cider !! not strongbow !! YUK. The Staff here are great !! very helpful and chatty !! and the breakfast is superb lots of it and very tasty. while you are their try the Ancient Briton pub about a mile away Great food and very friendly The castle is old and a bit run down but the owner is trying to put it right but its taking time !! give this place a try i do not think you will be disappointed !!
Stayed May 2015, travelled as a couple

What an amazing place for dogs and the views. Well speechless”
Reviewed 23 May 2015 - 4 out of 5 stars
Had a wonderfull time. Every member of staff excelled them selves, yet again. Vicky in the restaurant was amazing, lovely personallity and oh so helpfull. If you have dogs and need to get away, with them, you cant go wrong here. The walks are to die for and the beach we visited about 40 minuites drive away, was breathtaking. Everything you want for a nice quite getaway with your dogs, is right here. 10 out 10. Room Tip: Room 16 has a sofa and loads of room for the dogs
Stayed May 2015, travelled as a couple

“Best dog friendly hotel ever?”
Reviewed 21 May 2015 - 4 out of 5 stars
The faded glamour of this wonderful place puts you at ease straight away. The building and its story is entrancing. For us it was all about the location for walking, with of course our furry friend. All the staff were so welcoming (especially to the dog) and we could breakfast and dine with her at our feet. A 40 acre country park is just through the gate and f.o.c. to enter at any time of day or night. These were the old gardens of this mansion, before being taken over by the National Park Authority. We found mobile reception difficult and our room did not have wifi, although we could plug a laptop into the telephone and this gave good internet signal. Clearly much investment has been needed from the current owners, and more is needed, so we shall return to explore further the Brecon Beacons and support this wonderful venture. Room Tip: We had room 16 (see website) which was great as it had its own door to the outside.
Stayed May 2015, travelled with family

“Excellent friendly Staff, great food and wonderful location”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 - 5 stars
If you are expecting a Castle with Turrets, Battle defences and Dungeons then this is not for you. However this is a wonderful House full of History, brilliant friendly staff and maybe even a Ghost or two! It was previously owned by, at the time, the second most wealthiest Woman in the Country. It is one of the most welcoming Hotels I have stayed at, the staff are all exceptionally friendly and helpful, the room was large, clean and well presented. There is a choice of eating in the Restaurant or Bar, both have the same menu, the food was great, very well cooked and plentiful. If you are looking for a dog friendly Hotel then you will not find a better one, they welcome dogs throughout the building and are allowed to be with you in the Bar during meal times. The location of the Hotel could not be better for walkers, either a stroll around the grounds of the Hotel or a more adventurous hike throughout the Brecon Beacons whatever your preference. I recommend this Hotel very highly, it is not a five star super Hotel and it never claims to be, it is a most welcoming, dog friendly Hotel with great staff and great food with comfortable rooms.
Stayed May 2015, travelled as a couple

“An amazing place and dog friendly too!”
Reviewed 14 May 2015 - 4 out of 5 stars
Just returned (yesterday) from a Groupon deal to the Castle. Great value and would definitely go back again if there is another deal. Our dog thoroughly enjoyed it and all the staff were very friendly to all the dogs. We could even take our dogs into the Patti Bar with us at mealtimes - with beds for them to save laying on the hard floors. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, particularly the chatty lady who was on duty at breakfast time - it made our stay very relaxed. We stayed in the Theatre first floor flat and what a surprise that was. It was obviously newly refurbished and had its own very modern kitchen and Sky tv in three rooms. I would give it 5* There was quite a lot of noise from the flat/rooms above though - the floorboards were extremely squeaky and we could hear them moving about in the night but not their voices. The food was excellent and plenty of it but the vegetables could have been cooked more as they were rather hard. The area is absolutely beautiful. The café in the country park immediately opposite had fantastic home made cake & food for lunches. What more could you ask for from a holiday. Yes there are parts of the castle which need refurbishing but it is what it is - a gothic castle and what else would you expect, it is part of the charm. Such a shame that some people have chosen to complain on Trip Advisor. We can't wait to go again!!
Stayed May 2015, travelled as a couple

“Amazing value and friendly staff (Dog friendly too)”
Reviewed 10 May 2015 - 5 stars
I booked this stay with a Groupon voucher for 3 nights and then bought a separate 1 night stay for a total of 4 consecutive days stay. I am always mindful of the venues that appear on Groupon as there is normally a mixed set of reviews but I really didn't need to have worried. The location is stunning and arrival at the front of the castle does take your breath away. If I was driving past it I would never have thought I could have afforded to stay as you would think it would be £150-£200 a night. However we stayed for the 4 nights for less than £250 and that included breakfast everyday and an evening main course on 2 of the nights. Breakfast was excellent quality and there was a good choice to satisfy most tastes. The evening meals were of an excellent quality and very reasonably priced for a hotel. The rooms (we stayed in 2 different ones) were very well refurbished and they had big bathrooms, excellent shower and plenty of tea & coffee facilities. There is free wifi in various parts of the building and considering its location it was quite fast. Don't expect a mobile signal though! The building has rooms to suit all budgets from backpacker type rooms in a self contained building to the rooms in the main hotel. The building is dog friendly and they don't charge extra. It was lovely meeting the owners and pets around the hotel. There is a hot tub and soon will be a sauna and plunge pool. There is also an excellent gym with most machines those who are that way inclined (not me!). The building is a work in progress. The owner has already spent £10 million of refurbishments and to complete the building it will need another £15m spent on it. There is a free tour of the castle 6 days a week and you get to see the state of the upper floors and where that £15m is needed. The staff were really friendly and what I love most is that there is no pretentiousness about the place. The weddings tend to cover the running costs and the hotel side during the week is for the restoration. It is definitely worth trying and you wont regret your choice. Everyone wants to feel like a king or queen at least once in their lifetime.
Stayed May 2015, travelled as a couple

“Great dog-friendly hotel”
Reviewed 6 May 2015 via mobile - 4 out of 5 stars
We stayed here for four nights with our dog. The staff were fantastic, the food good & the prices reasonable. The castle renovation is a work in progress on the upper floors, but our room was clean and comfortable and the lounge with its log stoves is inviting. We preferred to eat in the bar where our dog could lie on a (provided) dog bed beside us. The grounds and scenery are amazing: my husband tried very hard to tire our Shiba out each day. We plan to come back soon!
Stayed May 2015, travelled as a couple

“Doggy Heaven”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 - 5 stars
For our wedding anniversary we booked a two night mid - week "dog friendly"deal costing £260 for b&b and a 3 course evening meal on both nights. This turned out to be really excellent value as there were no menu restrictions and the food was really tasty and there was plenty of it. We stayed in room 34 which was very comfortable and had a lovely view, it was a reasonable size and had a nice en suite. We were a little disappointed as there wasn't a dvd player but this was rectified within 15 mins at 9pm at night so we can't complain. But the real highlight of our stay was that our dog was made to feel as welcome as us. The staff all seemed to really love dogs and it was great to be able to take him with us when we went for our evening meal. The grounds and the adjoining country park provide a safe place for dogs to run around and swim. Our dog was definitely in heaven! Overall the castle has a lovely relaxed atmosphere and is a great place to get away from it all. It is a bit tatty in places but for us that was part of the charm. We would definitely recommend the castle to other dog owners and we hope to come back soon.
Stayed April 2015, travelled as a couple

“3 Night Break”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 - 4 out of 5 stars
Just returned from our second visit to the Castle. We stayed in a flat near the theatre which was ideal for our two dogs. It has obviously been recently refurbished, everything was spotless and the shower very powerful. We only used one bedroom, although had to store items in the spare due to lack of hanging space. Breakfasts were tasty, especially the sausage and bacon. The dogs enjoyed the local area, especially Rhosselli beach and the walk around Usk Resevoir plus of course starting and ending the days with walks and swims in the country park. We shall definitely return.
Stayed April 2015, travelled as a couple

Dog friendly. Great Food”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 - 5 stars
We stayed on a Groupon deal for one night. The hotel is completely dog friendly. Our room on the ground floor was ideal for our large mastiff dog. There are plenty of places to walk and lots of things to visit in the area. The food at the hotel was wonderful, we ate in the restaurant but as the bar is dog friendly we collected our dog from our room and had our dessert and coffee there. Cannot wait for the autumn Groupon deals and stay for two nights this time.
Stayed April 2015, travelled as a couple

“Doggy Friendy”
Reviewed 17 April 2015 - 4 out of 5 stars
We stayed here for 2 nights on a Groupon deal. The breakfast had lots of choice and fully cooked breakfast. The room was very clean and had a new fitted bathroom it was pretty small with 2 people and a dog but we were not in the room much. The staff were all very friendly and helpful especially the young man in the bar who made great lattes :) Lots of nice walks around and very doggy friendly you can stay in the bar area and have all you meals with your dog.
Stayed April 2015, travelled as a couple

“Fantastic”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 - 5 stars
Arrived for a 3 night break to this wonderful castle nestling in beautiful country side with a stream down at the bottom of castle,when checked in was met with a really helpful receptionist who checked us in and showed us too our room,which was a bit on the small side but still lovely and cosy,with French doors leading out into garden the shower was extra special as it had body jets and steam facility (don't think all rooms had this we was lucky ) it was room TGR.
In our Deal we had breakfast and one evening meal I had the lamb with vegetables all was cooked fresh came out hot and was absolutey lovely with the waiting staff being very helpful and pleasant.breakfast was also a delight with cereal,fruit,yoghurt etc,then a buffet style cooked breakfast with fruit juices coffee and tea once again was wonderful. We also had a tour off the castle which was very interesting and informative. We then ventured outside the castle to the park next door with streams and bridges,lakes,and woodland with was lovely to stroll round also ideal if u had dogs. There is a waterfall about 3 miles up the road which is well worth a visit,we also visited two local pubs for dinner Penycae in and the Ancient Briton which was also lovely with food being freshly cooked.. We also had wifi free in the room but signal on a phone was nearly non existent. All in all I can not fault the accomendation or surrounding area and local pub/restaurants would recommend it to every one. Room Tip: Room TGR had a fab shower/steam room


“Superb visit”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 - 5 stars
We came for two nights, and loved the castle, the setting and everything about this place. The building is gorgeous, and the friendly staff bring it alive, and create a lovely ambience. The food was most enjoyable, especially when we ate in the bar- where dog beds are provided- and our greyhound could be with us. The free sausage at breakfast time went down very well with him! There is loads of space for all guests in the sitting rooms. The views all around are spectacular- and we happened to have glorious sunny weather all through which made it even better. Hopefully we shall come here again- once is not enough! Room Tip: We had room 23 which wasn't huge, but plenty large enough for us and our large dog.
Stayed April 2015, travelled as a couple

Wonderful Staff”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 - 5 stars
Very friendly, helpful staff especially Lauren and Marissa. We enjoyed our stay which was made even better by the fact that our dog could go everywhere with us including the tour of the castle which meant she could even go on the roof!

“Dog friendly castle”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 - 5 stars
Myself, partner and our Labrador stayed at this beautiful castle from the 2nd-4th April. we felt very welcomed by the staff and our dog Alfie loved all the attention he got! The staff were all lovely and very helpful. Our room was in the main section of the castle no 23 I think! It was perfect lovely and warm with a large Lcd TV and a huge bathroom. The breakfast was great! We also had dinner and afternoon tea with cakes which were also amazing I had a mint chocolate cake twice as it was so yummy! We absolutely loved our stay and we will certainly be back! I found the price we paid £75pn was such a good price for what you get plus being dog friendly was great and was lovely to be able to take our dog along :) the castle is in the middle of the national park so perfect for walks very beautiful place. I would also recommend the tour of the castle, very interesting and spooky!! Thanks so much for a lovely stay we are already arranging a date to come back in a couple of months time.
Becky, Adam & Alfie
Stayed April 2015, travelled as a couple

Very go0d”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 - 5 stars
Very good hotel. Staff friendly, helpful. Bedroom, clean, comfortable and warm. Meal and breakfast OK. Tours excellent. and it's dog friendly. Price was cheap for what we had. Very enjoyable stay - We'll stay again!

“A very enjoyable few days.”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 - 5 stars
Craig y Nos Castle is a good down to earth Hotel with a very refreshing welcome to people with dogs. Without fail we were made welcome and both the friendly helpfulness of the staff and the quality of the accommodation surpassed our expectations. A very good base for exploring the local walks and beaches slightly further afield.

"A fascinating place, with an interesting history”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 - 4 out of 5 stars
We had an enjoyable 3 day minibreak here. The young staff look after you well and the evening meal (especially the beef medallions!) was well cooked and delicious. We did the tour of the castle; clearly there is much work still to be done but if all that is visualised comes off it will be a stunning place to stay. It is very dog-friendly and there are many small lounges where you can chill out and sink into deep leather Chesterfields. The nearby country park is perfect for dog walking and the Brecons are close by for something more ambitious.
Stayed March 2015, travelled as a couple

“Fantastic! ”
Reviewed 19 March 2015 via mobile - 5 stars
What a spectacular place this is! Wonderful views! You are surrounded by beautiful hills. The castle itself is amazing, full of stories and mystery. The gentleman who is renovating the castle is doing a great job! I can't wait to come back next year to see how it's changed. We took our 2 little dogs with us and they loved every second of it. If you like walking, this place is must! Our evening meal was Devine, breakfast was lovely too and plenty of it! The staff are are very nice. My only upset was..... We didn't book long enough!!! We would of liked a few more days there. I noticed a gentleman complaining a few reviews down, if you don't want squeaky floor boards, don't stay in a 200 year old castle! Lol! I recommend all that stay there do the tour. The lady who did ours was lovely, and it's all fascinating! Lots of very spooky rooms! They do loads of ghost nights here too. We went into adalanas old bedroom! Very scary! People stay there sometimes! People are braver than me All in all, a wonderful experience! See you next year! We want the new cottage that's being done up at the moment x x
Stayed March 2015, travelled as a couple


“Pleasantly different & very dog friendly”
4 of 5 stars
We had the pleasure of staying here for 3 nights at the end of February, taking advantage of the off peak offer of £200 B&B, which we thought reasonable,in addition to no extra charges for our little dog which is a welcome change from being ripped off. This Castle truly is dog friendly in every respect & the numerous dogs there were clearly enjoying themselves as much as their owners. The castle itself has a wealth of history & is set in a spectacular location, our large room ( AB 35 ) was simply furnished, but with all one would expect & more. It should be taken into account that this Castle is very much a work in progress & it's clearly an on going project, although this didn't affect us at all. We ate in the evening every night & found the menu to be varied & the food to be of high quality, the hot buffet breakfasts were equally good with plenty of choice & all credit to the staff for coping with a power cut on our last day which affected the kitchens. We found all the staff we encountered to be very professional & friendly - they are a credit to the Castle.
We will certainly return to this very special & unique Castle.

“Great Setting, Dog Highlight”
4 of 5 stars
We came for 3 nights to review a further stay with our 3 dogs. Very interesting place in a fantastic setting. Local area behind hotel great for Dog walking and forms part of Brecons Way. Room we had was excellent, Food very good and plentiful. All the bars and communal rooms where very cosy and friendly all having Log Burner stoves too keep them warm. Staff themselves where all very friendly and welcoming. We will definitely return again in the future thoroughly enjoyed our stay. If you wish to use your Laptop etc then you will need an ethernet lead as the Wifi does not work in the rooms and you can only connect via lines.
Stayed February 2015, travelled as a couple

“Interesting, Comfortable and Value for money.......out of the norm which is good”
4 of 5 stars
I brought my mom here for a mini break on a groupon deal 25th 26th Feb along with my little yorkie Bella.....We had great time. Building - Amazing place extremely comfortable and welcoming, all public places were warm and cosy and most relaxing, It rained but no problem we enjoyed the Jacuzzi and we had a giggle in the gym. I wasso shocked that they get no funding from the government to help with the restoration considering they hold Adelina Patti a national treasure as of her belongings. I find this so sad and when you read the information about the hotel the struggle that the owner has had to keep it going with huge bills just to restore the actual building not including the hotel. "a labour of love" please keep up the good work. This is a 3 * hotel and I felt was good value for money, yes agree with some other reviews that it does need upgrading in some areas but I liked the atmosphere and the quirkiness. Its so refreshing from the bland cosmopolitan hotels that all very much the same. Room - we had room 11 which was extremely comfortable and warm. The bathroom did flood more than a wet room should have (we notified staff and was sorted no problems and all wet towels removed immediately. I don't blame the hotel if only the previous occupants had mentioned it, it only needed unblocking, it would have helped after all staff don't shower in there). It was large, quiet and decorated lovely. No complaints at all.
Food - OMG we loved the food and the chef (very friendly) we ate here on the first night included in our deal, we returned the 2nd night due to the fact the food was so good and also we wanted to support the hotel with our custom (every little helps) Breakfast was also very good, freshly cooked and bella enjoyed her own special breakfast a lovely sausage such a nice touch for dog owners.
Staff - So So welcoming if I had to holiday alone I would defo return here they made you feel like an old friend. Nicola the lady who did the history tour was so passionate about her subject it was infectious (some very good ideas as well for raising funds for restoration). We did the history tour however we DID have a very spooky moment under the theatre stage I think even the guide was a little spooked. The history tour was so fascinating well worth the hour or so it takes. It also makes you appreciate how much work has actually been done.
Dog friendly OH YES..............if your a dog owner its a must. So nice you can have them with you all the time even when you eat. Bella loved it trotting around as if she lived there. We even loved Fluff the resident cat (who doesn't bother with the dogs btw)
If I had one very small criticism was the breakfast service on the morning of the 26th. The waitress did appear to rush everyone. As soon as we walked in she asked if we wanted a full breakfast which was great, however she brought it out before we had finished our cereal and placed it on our table so when we got to eat it, it was cool. I think she should have paid more attention to her customers and what stage they were at - after all you would not present a main course if the customer was still eating a starter. We felt very rushed and did not have such a relaxing breakfast as we had the previous morning with a different waitress.
Would we return - MOST DEFINITALY and are now looking at dates to take our other half's to enjoy. The surrounding gardens/parks/walks are outstanding too.
Stayed February 2015, travelled as a couple

“Mid-week break - two nights for price of one”
5 of 5 stars
Just had a second stay at Craig-y-Nos. After our enjoyable break there in the summer we really wanted to try it in a different season. Bedrooms and public rooms were warm and inviting - it would be squandering money to try to keep corridors etc equally warm in such a vast building, so didn't mind the brisk walks from bedroom to bar. Staff were lovely, bar staff, waitresses, even the chef (after his shift), were friendly and happy to chat when they had a moment, usually when loading wood into the huge log burners. The food was as good as we remembered, especially the fillet steak. We would recommend Craig-y-Nos to anyone who likes to take their dog away with them as part of the family. One can dine in the large reception room which contains the bar with one's dog, so no need to leave an animal in the car or room while eating, as in many other places
Next time must remember my swim suit so I can make use of the spa pool (no extra charge). There is also use of a gym.included in the price of accommodation, I believe.
Stayed February 2015, travelled as a couple

“Amazing break”
5 of 5 stars
We wanted a dog friendly hotel for a last minute break, Craig-Y-Nos had an excellent weekend deal, couldn't resist and we weren't disappointed. We loved it, excellent location next to the country park, the castle staff were so friendly and the food was amazing. We will definitely be going back soon. You must give it a try. Intriguing place with loads of history.
Stayed February 2015, travelled as a couple

“Full of history”
5 of 5 stars
We went to stay with our 2 labradors for 3 nights. The staff in the hotel are brilliant. The hotel is in a great location for dogs and is very dog friendly. A must to visit and make sure you do the history tour.
Stayed February 2015, travelled as a couple

“Dog Friendly Hotel Brecon Beacons”
5 of 5 stars
Found this place through Groupon and booked because dogs are allowed. It is a proper dog friendly place with lovely grounds and right next door to a country park. The visit was a real experience with an interesting history tour included. The building itself is beautiful, credit to the owners for the never ending restoration work. Meals and breakfast were tasty and you can eat with the dogs. One of the biggest assets was the staff all were friendly and talkative, they made time for you and nothing was too much trouble.
Room Tip: We stayed in AB28 which was not great for the dogs, there are a few steps and fire doors to get out.

Loved it”
5 of 5 stars
So my girlfriend and I went to stay at Craig Y Nos, along with our German Shepherd, for my birthday and we weren't disappointed! The staff were so polite and helpful, and there was nothing they wouldn't do for us. They were absolutely brilliant with our dog as well. The location is stunning, and if you're after country walks and dog walks then you are literally spoiled for choice. The 'terrible' reviews make me laugh... There are several areas where you can enjoy complete peace and quiet, and if you book to stay in an old castle-like building then surely you're not going to expect radiators and electric heaters everywhere?? If you're cold do what we did and jump in front of the log burner with a bottle of Red and a chessboard. Loved our stay and will be back again for sure.
Stayed January 2015, travelled as a couple

“A special place for dog lovers and historians”
5 of 5 stars
We arrived in the snow which made this Castle even more magical. My husband and I wanted a few days away with our two lurcher dogs, and this was ideal. we were positioned in a room which was close to the outside staircase so that if we needed to take the dogs out in the night we did not disturb other guests. We enjoyed all our meals in the bar with the company of our dogs, who were provided with a bed to lie on and sausages for breakfast. The dogs were made to feel very welcome by the staff, as were we. The food was excellent. We had intended to go out to eat in other restaurants, but after enjoying such a great meal when we arrived we decided not to go elsewhere for the whole of our stay. The proximity of the Country park meant there were some lovely walks, enjoyable for those with or without dogs. We enjoyed the tour of the castle with Nicole, who is very passionate about the history of the castle, which we found fascinating.The building is under constant renovation, being so old so some floors are out of bounds,but where we stayed was comfortable, and the bathroom was very nicely done. The theatre of Adelina Patti was beautiful, and full of potential for progressing this business. An all round great place to stay,good value for money and a fantastic business opportunity.We will definitely return and have recommended it to our friends
Room Tip: Dog friendly rooms that are near the back staircase and come out on to the courtyard

“Clean and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 30 January 2015
Visited Craig Y Nos with my mum, the rooms were clean, our bathroom was beautiful. The Castle was stunning, you can really tell a lot of effort is going into the refurbishments. The staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for you.
We had a 3 course meal, which was delicious, plus full English in the morning, definitely great value for money. Even better, it was pooch friendly, so get your doggies down here and take them on a walk around the beautiful country park surrounding the Castle. We will definitely be coming back. Thank you for a lovely stay.

“A dog friendly castle in glorious grounds and countryside!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 21 January 2015
we booked a three night B&B stay in mid January because it was a dog friendly hotel.. Wow what surprise when we turned up to this wonderful castle with lovely grounds and walks.. Not forgetting its wonderful location in the Brecon Beacons..
Staff were very helpful and very polite, always someone around to answer any questions. We particularly liked it because it was dog friendly and there's no shortage of walks in this area.. On our visit we had some snow and it was very cold, but within the castle there seemed to be a wood burner in every room that you can light and put more logs on as you wish. The bar and adjacent rooms are cosy and very warm, just what you need when out walking.. Breakfast and evening meals were excellent , the chef was very chatty and asked if the food was ok or anything else he could help with. There are also a couple of nice pubs just down the road that serve good food too. Our room was on the ground floor with the front door straight out onto a courtyard, this was ideal when you have a dog.. Room was very spacious with a living room, bathroom and separate bedroom..


“Wonderful place, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 12 January 2015
We've just returned from a three night stay at Craig-y-Nos and we had such a wonderful time! Perfect location and the staff really make this place. So welcoming and friendly. On our first night we were the only ones in the bar, chef and Lauren made us feel so welcome both coming out to us to chat. The food was amazing each night we ate in the hotel and chef came out every night to chat, really nice guy. Very dog friendly with a sausage each morning and a dog bed in the lounge, frank our french bulldog loved it!!! All the girls came out to fuss frank each night, which he loved and all were so nice. Lauren and anne-marie really looked after us. The castle has such a wonderful history and would recommend the tour even just to see the derelict upper floors of the castle. The country park is right on the doorstep with stunning views across the mountains. We will definitely be returning!  
Stayed January 2015, travelled with family

“New Years Day Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 January 2015
Great relaxing stay. Ideally situated on the doorstep of Craig Y Nos Country Park. Dogs and human guests made to feel very welcome. Roaring log fires, settees set around them. Great place for a coffee and a good book. Good choice of evening meal, food tasty, staff very welcoming and accommodating. Buffet breakfast, selection of full English or continental style. Staff decorated table with birthday table cloth and banners. Family room was very spacious and warm. Beds comfy and plenty of hot water in the large en-suite bathroom.
Room Tip: Family room slept 6. Very spacious.
 
Copyright 2015. All rights reserved.
Back to content | Back to main menu