What other dog owners say about Jack's Dog Friendly Hotel - Dog Friendly Wales

Go to content

Main menu:

Dog's Reviews
________________________________________

Dog Owners' Reviews - 2014
Craig y Nos Castle Dog Friendly B&B
________________________________________
“Christmas Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 27 December 2014
Fabulous place to stay for Christmas especially if you are a dog lover, stress free and exceptionally friendly staff makes this very special Castle an excellent place to stay to get away from it all. Loved the power shower in the room. Quaint and full of history, so glad we went on the tour of all the rooms. Due credit to the owner refurbishing the Castle and keeping all the history of the castle alive. Fabulous walks for the dogs, food home cooked and delicious, nothing too much trouble for the staff. Dogs enjoyed their sausages for breakfast. Will be booking again for Next Christmas.
Stayed December 2014, travelled as a couple

“Very dog friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 26 December 2014
Had a lovely overnight stay here with my husband and our dog. We were all made to feel very welcome. Loving the building and furnishings in public areas. Room ok. Shower needs regrouting. Food lets it down a touch, expensive for the very average quality. Breakfast good.
But would definite stay again. Stayed December 2014, travelled as a couple

“Stunning.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 17 December 2014
Quirky & authentic.
Dog friendly with stunning 380° scenery bang smack in the heart of Brecons. A wonderful labour of love in progress. Stayed here for a family wedding so unable to comment on restaurant, however the wedding catering was lovely. Just hoping that the renovations dont sanitise the character out of the hotel. The theatre is intriguing. Had been eyeing this hotel for some time and was delighted that it lived up to expectation.
Stayed October 2014, travelled as a couple

Do not miss this opportunity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 17 December 2014
A bit cold perhaps but a wonderful, wonderful place. Right on the edge of the Brecon Country Park, a real paradise for walkers and dog owners. Immerse yourself in the fabulous history of Adelina Patti and do the tour.
Room Tip: Dogs are welcome and some rooms open direct to the gardens, and literally yards from the country park

“top class dog friendly accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 10 December 2014
We stayed at the castle in late October and had a thoroughly enjoyable couple of nights. The staff were very welcoming and service in the bar and restaurant was excellent. The food was very well prepared and presented and much appreciated. The bedroom was clean, warm and afforded very good value for money. It was especially good to be able to stay in decent accommodation with our dog. The adjacent country park provided really good walking opportunities and the location was ideal for us to visit the waterfalls and take in walks at Pontneddfechan. Overall, a very enjoyable and top value experience. We shall certainly return.
Stayed October 2014, travelled as a couple

Beautiful area, perfect for dogs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 December 2014
Friendly staff, very relaxed and enjoyable stay with out dog. Beautiful area for walks and perfect to come back and relax in front of the log burners after a cold winters walk. Also very interesting tour around the castle.


“Fabulous Pet friendly venue steeped in History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 10 November 2014
I booked a one night stay at Craig Y Nos for my husband and I for our Anniversay. I was thrilled to know I could bring our labrador along with us. I think my dog enjoyed it the most! He got to sit with us in the bar/restaurant during evening meal and breakfast and was supplied with his own bed at the table by the staff. The food was excellent, as were the waiting staff. We stayed up chatting to the bar staff once the restaurant had closed and they were very friendly and knowledgable about the bulding.
There are plenty of stunning walks to do in the immediate vicinity as well as the surrounding areas. We stayed in the old servant quaters and the room was clean and modern. I did experience spooky goings on in the room but that wouldnt put me off going again. Thankyou for an enjoyable experience!
Room Tip: Very little mobile phone reception but each room has a landline.

“Fascinating Brecon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 23 October 2014
We stayed at Craig Y Nos for 3 nights and found it a quirky, interesting, comfortable and very dog friendly with enthusiastic staff. We have a dog and found the ground floor room in the courtyard ideal. We could take the dog to the nearby grassed area as necessary without tramping all through the hotel. They have a number of ground floor rooms which are ideal for doggy holidays. The history attached to the hotel especially its early days and transition to a 'castle' by opera singer Adelina Patti was fascinating. The hotel is slowly updating its rooms and still requires a lot of restoration particulary on the upper floors but these are not being used at the moment. However, they do feature in a fascinating tour given by a most enthusiastic young lady.
Room Tip: For dog owners there are several ground floor rooms with easy access to the outside.

“A 3 star castle a must do! Please do!”
5 of 5 starsReviewed 14 October 2014
This is a lovely old castle... and for three stars it is perfect. The walks and Breacon Beacons surrounding this stunningly dilapidated and lovingly nutured Victorian Gothis residence. The ambiance is eerie anddripping with odes to Adelina Patti, the opera star who extended and revitalized the property. It feels and smells musty and stony..exactly as an authentic castle should. If you want pure luxury book and pay for a five star castle. Other wise , relax, enjoy the other guests dogs, resident cat and charming staff who will treat you as well as you treat them.
We stayed three nights in room 15, a three room with one bathroom apartment ( for want of better term) It was hygienic and made the beast of the available space. The beds were comfy and this space could have accommodated five adults easily. There was a double bedroom, a room with two queens and a couch bed room. Bathroom has a separate shower and bath and the bath was decent and deep. Request extra towels and if you want your rooms cleaned every day, leave the key with reception. The castle tour is interesting and a little spooky. Definitely worthy of the fearless ghost hunter. We enjoyed a hearty breakfast and smiling waitresses guided by the super efficient and apparently bi-locating Nicola , a delight and part of the charm of the castle. I may have had a ghostly experience but am too much of a skeptic to believe my own eyes and ears.
The bar is not open late so bring your own liquor,or order prior to closing and vacate to an adjoining room provided for shenanigans till the wee hours.
Fellow Canadians you will love this experience and the prices are reasonable. Bring walking boots and raincoats, cameras and a healthy sense of humour and this will be a fabulous experience! Theres a lovely river running through the grounds.
Just go and soak up the ghostly, operatic ambience of Wales. I loved it and would happily return. Anyone with a spare 10 million pounds could easily pour it into this building too! Its a great venue for Weddings , very romantic and the chef can turn out a surprising array of delicacies.
Bring the dog..its heaven for them. WiFi is only available in the bar.
Room Tip: Check their website and you can see exactly what you book.

“Mid week break with dogs”
4 of 5 starsReviewed 14 October 2014
Excellent warm friendly welcome when we arrived. Rooms very clean and tidy and not a hint of any dog hairs or smell from previous occupants. The tour of the castle was very interesting and I would love to see if (when?) the castle is completely renovated and restored to it's former glory.
Full marks to the owners for keeping it as original as possible. Already booked our return visit for next year.
Room Tip: We were in AB16 which is a ground floor room with access from an enclosed courtyard.

“Lovely break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 13 October 2014
I wanted to take my dog on his first holiday and he loved it. If I were to stay again I would ask for a bigger room but the bedroom was clean (when we arrived at least), the bathroom was lovely and modern, and the views were good. The weather was wetter than wet but we still managed several long walks in the country park. Apologies for the muddy paw-prints on the bedcover but my dog is young and boisterous and still hasn't learnt bedroom etiquette! The breakfasts were amazing for human and dog consumption, and the evening meals (although a little repetitive - same menu for 3 nights) were cooked to perfection. My chap would have liked the choice of a curry, spag bol, pie perhaps but you can't please everyone...I was particularly impressed by the bar-staff and waitresses who were a credit. Only on the last morning (Saturday) did we find 2 girls a bit disinterested (we hadn't seen them before then). All in all worth a visit as long as you bear in mind it is an on-going project but definitely value for money. We may re-visit in Spring...does it stop raining then?
Room Tip: The Theatre Loft is compact and you had better be fit to climb the stairs

“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 12 October 2014
My daughter and I stayed with our two dogs and we were greeted so warmly and welcoming. The dogs even get sausages cooked for them!!  The place is steeped in history and the staff are only too happy to share it with you, They are all so friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them.
The area and views are outstanding. We loved it so much that I have purchased all the books about the castle and have booked to stay over the Christmas period with of course our dogs Diesel and Bailey. Well done and thank you. I just hope the owner appreciates the hard work you all do
Room Tip: all rooms are good and quite due to the thickness of the castle walls

September”
5 of 5 starsReviewed 9 October 2014
Have to say this is a place worth a visit. The staff are lovely. The food is good. The rooms are tidy and generally big. Loits to do close by. The caves well worth a visit. A country park jnext door. Top real ale pub the ancient Britain just down the road. Breakfast, eat as much as you like. Nice bar with a real ale. Do the house tour if you have time. Lots of history all around. And ghosts too. In expensive. Ring them. Overall a good place for a break. Oh if you have a doggie then this place is for you. Mister Wooftie loved it. Thanks Craig Y Nos. Liked ....
Stayed September 2014, travelled as a couple

“Great food, friendly staff and pet friendly.”
5 of 5 starsReviewed 5 October 2014
We stayed for one night in the bridal suite with our dog. The staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Great choice of walks. The evening meal and breakfast were both very nice and we could have our dog with us in the patti bar. The room was very nice and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom had a walk in shower and roll top bath. We wish we could have stayed longer!
Stayed October 2014

“Craig y nos,it was the dogs..........!”
5 of 5 starsReviewed 29 September 2014
We chose this place after a neighbour with dogs stayed there last year and recommended it. What a great place for dogs and their owners it is too,in fact,when we were there I reckon there were more with than without. Our room was actually one with facilities for the disabled so we enjoyed a bigger room, and it was very clean with everything we needed for our four night stay. There were a couple of minor things that could do with attention when the opportunity arises but the place doesn't sell itself as a luxury hotel and neither does it charge high end prices,it does though, give a good value taster of staying in a grand house. We went on the tour of this impressive looking building which gave us a good insight to its history,thanks to Nicole for her knowledge of this and keeping us safe all the way up on to the roof! What a great view we had on that lovely sunny day. The tour also helped us appreciate what a mammoth ongoing project it is,but also had us, and other guests,imagining its future potential. The grounds and parkland were beautiful and our golden retriever loved exploring the different areas and cooling off in the clean clear water of the river,it was a safe and tranquil area with poo bins located up near the castle.The breakfasts were lovely,buffet style and with plenty to choose from,it set us up nicely for the day and all the dogs there seemed to enjoy their free sausage too! We had dinner on a couple of evenings and found the food to be very good and promptly served by the friendly efficient waitresses,the beef with whiskey sauce was particularly gorgeous! It was so nice to be able to have our dog with us in the Patti bar at meal times and when we relaxed on the sofa after with a drink and chatted with other guests and the staff when they weren't busy,we have to say,they were ALL very friendly and welcoming. So,congratulations on providing us with the ideal place to go for a relaxing break, with our dog being TRUELY welcome! We will definitely be back,for us,it was the dogs....! Wish there were more places like this.(would love to experience it in the snow with the real fires and cosy atmosphere).

“Doggy friendly hotel”
5 of 5 starsReviewed 27 September 2014
Stayed here for 3 nights with my 2 white German shepards Sophie and Heidi and what a fantastic place for dogs. I went on my own with the dogs and was the first time l had ever been anywhere with just the dogs so was a bit apprehensive about it. I needn't have worried about it at all.
We were made very welcome from start to finish. Our room was basic but what do you expect when you can have your dogs with you. Food was fantastic and the girls were allowed to be with me at meal times, they were allowed anywhere apart from the main dining room,which is fair enough as not everyone had dogs with them. There was plenty of walking, we also went to Oxwich beach which was outstanding, we walked for more than 4 hours on the beach.
Would certainly recommend a stay here and will certainly be back for a visit.

“Doggy paradise in a quirky setting....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 26 September 2014
Craig y Nos advertises itself as 'dog friendly hotel in Wales' and if you have a dog - or indeed dogs - this is a wonderful place to stay. Dogs are truly welcome, with owners able to eat with their pets in the bar area, take their dogs in most areas of the hotel and spoil them with fantastic walks in the hotel's grounds and nearby country park. The food at the hotel is excellent and the staff very friendly and eager to please. However the hotel is, as described, elsewhere, very much a 'work in progress' as it is based in a historic home (mock castle) and frankly, the staff ( and owner) are unable to keep up with what needs doing to fix things( which inevitably, break in rooms) and indeed to make the place really special. Consequently much of the castle is at best tatty and at worst a ruin. However where restoration has taken place it is beautifully done and enhances the ambience and history of the castle. The hotel is very well worth a visit and is excellent value for money especially if you have dogs. However it falls between several stools, trying to provide, on the same site, a wedding venue, budget accommodation for schools, dog- friendly accommodation, historic tours and ghost tours too. I have already recommended it to dog owner friends, with the caveat that I am not so sure everyone also wants to stay at one of the 'spookiest venues in Britain' possibly alongside a party of school children.
Room Tip: Some rooms have Sky TV or a DVD facility. Some rooms have no TV at all.
Stayed September 2014, travelled as a couple

“Fantastic stay with our dogs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 25 September 2014
We have had a wonderful 5 night stay at the castle . The castle is steeped in history and is an ongoing restoration project . There is much to do , much has been done already and to a very high standard. The staff are fun , friendly and helpful !always a warm welcome awaits at the castle . The food is beautifully cooked and presented ... If you have a favourite dish .. Ask Alan the Chef he will cook it for you!  The hotel is clean and homely , the owners have retained many of the original features which add to the castles homely feel . The walks in the grounds and country park take you through outstanding beauty ! The dogs loved it !!!  We cannot wait to return . An extra special thanks to Alan and Aeron our chefs , and the girls Nicole , Ann-Marie ,Emily ,Lauren and Katie . you have all made our stay extra special .. Thank you . You all work so hard and still have a smile and joke for everyone .hope to see you all again soon x x x x
Stayed September 2014, travelled with family

“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 23 September 2014
Just back from a 2 night stay in the castle. Had a Fab time and would def go back again met some lovely people who was also enjoying their stay. We took our 2 dogs with us and they was allowed everywhere apart from the restaurant but you could have a table in the bar to eat lunch and breakfast. Food was very nice and you got plenty. Bar prices very reasonable, staff very friendly and helpfull reception printed off dog friendly walks for us. The grounds are lovely to walk through dogs can be off the lead and enjoy the stream and run around as it is all fenced and walled in. Rooms nice and clean bit dated but it does go with the theme of being in a castle, bed comfy, tea coffee kettle supplied also hairdryer, bathroom very nice and had complimentary shampoo shower gel and soap. Gym and Jacuzzi for all guests to use also and plenty of parking. We definitely will visit again.
Stayed September 2014, travelled as a couple

“Dogs Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 21 September 2014
We stayed for 4 nights here they were 4 of us with 2 dogs (Rosie and Jim) had a great time, lovely place all the staff very friendly ,beautiful grounds great for the dogs to run round ,we went on the castle tour with Nicole which was very interesting a lot of work as gone into restoring it ,rooms were very nice ,bed comfy, plenty of storage space ,bath and shower very good and plenty of hot water and i mean HOT we were in room 35 so if you have children don't let them turn hot tap on its boiling !! We stayed bed and breakfast and it was excellent ,dogs even got sausage ! plenty to choose from if this was nearer to where we live would certainly come back ,yes it smells a bit old and damp in some parts but that adds to the atmosphere of the place its beautiful inside and lots of lovely old furniture ,We had an evening meal the first night we stayed and I'm sorry to say this was the only draw back we had ,food was nice but didn't quite hit the mark for the price it was only just warm, yes we should of said something but it was our friends wedding anniversary so didn't want to spoil the night, other than that we had an excellent time so don't be put off by this there are other places to eat 5 mins away ,if the price was lower and food hotter we would of eaten here (breakfast was excellent )
Room Tip: Room 35 large enough if your taking a dog, very comfy lovely furniture

“Fabulous holiday venue with your kids and dogs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 16 September 2014
We went to Craig y Nos castle for a 3night 4 day break. We had our dog with us. The Castle was amazing, unique. Our room was great, no. 16, it was on the ground floor, great for the dog and consisted of bedroom, shower room and small sitting room!! Very old antique heavy furniture, not my taste, but suited the castle perfectly, there was a sofa in the sitting room with a supplied 'throw' in case of disobedient dogs! We always take a large cage with us so that we can leave our dog in the room while dining in the Restaurant/Bar, knowing she wont let us down and end up on the white sheets or sofa. However, I put the throw over the leather armed sofa, just in case! The Restaurant is large and airy and the staff were so very friendly, coming over to talk to us about our holiday and suggesting places/things etc. to do. The food was lovely, well presented and of good quality. We didnt spend over £50.for the meal any night and I had fillet steak in sauce one night and we both had beer/wine etc., and starters. The vegetables/salad/chips/new potatoes were all presented well and tasted good. We always had too much. Although we dined in the sumptuous restaurant overlooked by a painting of Madame Patti herself, we could have dined (with our dog) in the bar, which has several tables (with cloths) and where you can have your dog by your side all the while! The bar is cozy and amenable, giving you the opportunity to chat to fellow guests. There is a big fireplace in both rooms and I can imagine a winter break there, with the fire roaring and a hum of chatter and dogs nestled around the leather sofas. The Castle is right at the edge of the Brecon Beacon National Park, if you have dogs, you can walk straight out of the castle grounds into the Park, along the riverside and enjoy the sights and sounds of nature. The castle has its own Gardens where you can enjoy an outside drink if the weather is good. We were lucky and sat outside on several occasions.
There is a jacuzzi and well equipped gym, which doesnt appear to be used much. I feel that an indoor swimming pool would greatly enhance the place and make the gym more useable. The Castle is owned privately so is not part of a great conglomerate which makes it much more homely and unique. There is a castle tour which you can take which gives the history and 'ghost' stories and also, unusually, takes you around the parts of the castle that have not been renovated yet. Wow what possibilities lie still to be plumbed!! Such an experience to see rooms that have hardly changed (still with original beds) since the NHS used the Castle as a hospital for Polio and Tuberculosis patients at different times in its past. Also to be allowed to go up on the Castellated roof and take photos from this supreme vantage point. We will certainly return to the Castle for its total uniqueness, its fascinating history, its fabulously friendly and helpful staff and its wonderful geographical position. A real treat!!!
Stayed September 2014, travelled as a couple

“Really lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 9 September 2014
I booked to stay here for the night (31-08-2014) for my husband's birthday and was excited to bring the dogs along too. We stayed in room 23 and it was beautiful with a large and clean bathroom. We were made to feel so welcome and staff had huge knowledge about the building and it's history. The staff also extended their warmth and hospitality to our two dogs, lennie and lily. They were given sausages for breakfast and treated kindly...v important for dog loving owners. As I am quite evidently pregnant I was offered decaf. coffee at breakfast and other nice things without asking. The building is being restored and I believe that the two wings have been done, with the middle part of the building (above ground floor) awaiting restoration. It is evident from speaking to the staff who work here that they all have given a piece of their heart to the building and it's history and this is what made our stay even more special. It isn't a building with clean cut corners and hugely modern fittings, but that isn't why I wanted to visit - a Premier Inn would be for this purpose. We stayed to enjoy that charm, character, history and beautiful location and would not hesitate to stay again.
Thank you being wonderful hosts to my little family, including furries.
Room Tip: Stayed in room 23 which overlooked the car park and front, could get busy when functions are on.

“dog paradise, charming and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 September 2014
Just returned home after a short 3 night break here, the breakfasts are satisfying and evening meals are quality. It's a lovely place full of character and set in wonderful tree filled grounds on the banks of the river Tawe, you can literally have a different doggy adventure every day.
The night before I set off i read the previous 2 negative comments so I had the long drive down full of trepidation about the place. I can't begin to tell you how wrong these 2 poor comments are, the nursing block is basic, but that is how it is advertised. Some people will always find something to complain about, it's how they live their lives trying to fund a life style they probably can't afford so attempt to gain financial reward from their moaning. Don't get me wrong, everyone can find fault somewhere along the line, it is important to remember that the building is over 160 years old with an ongoing expensive refurbishment. This is part of the character of the place, but every effort is made by the staff to help as I seen when a wheelchair bound guest had access difficulties. Staff were very helpful and accommodating with a special mention for the attentive Nicole, she was very professional and was very enthusiastic for her job. ould I travel 5 hours for another visit, a big fat YES, and a big fat yes from Boris with special thanks for his breakfast sausages lol
Room Tip: We had a family room, number 31. It is on 2 levels with a double and 2 singles upstairs and a living room.

“Fantastic place for Dogs and their Owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 September 2014
Archie (dog & head of household) my wife (second in charge) and I spent a midweek two night break at Craig Y Nos Castle during the third week in August-14
We had no idea what to expect and had never stayed at a dog friendly establishment before. Our drive from Shropshire was beautiful and the Brecon Beacons outstanding. Arriving at the Castle much earlier than expected, around 12.30pm, we were mindful that the official check-in was 3.00pm, I enquired at reception and a very helpful lady informed me that this was not a problem and our room was ready for us immediately. Off we all went to the room which we found to be comfortable and clean, if I’m being ultra-honest I would also say that it was also a little tired and no doubt in the future benefit from a refresh of paint. However, the Castle is work in progress and for what we were being charged, including an evening meal I have no reason to complain, the Castle at the stage it is to my mind have the balance of accommodation offer and charge rates about right.
It is fair to say that both of us are mad about our dog Archie and it can be difficult for others to understand, this can cause an element of stress when taking your dog away with you. Not the case at the Castle, we all, including Archie were made to feel very welcome, indeed I have fond memories of the first evening meal and going to the bar restaurant to be greeted with a number of other guests enjoying their meals all with an eclectic mix of dogs on dog beds, some with toys, next to the tables. Everyone was well behaved, and absolutely no fighting took place whatsoever, plus the dogs were all well behaved as well. Strange thing is that if I was a guest without a dog I would have felt slightly awkward in the bar restaurant area, one could say that the tables have turned for dog owners which does not happen often. Fact is that anyone who takes their dog away with them will be responsible owners who make sure they are trained when in the company of others. Food and service was excellent and crucial for us was cleanliness together with the care taken in presentation of the food. My wife and I have been to much more expensive restaurants with no dogs allowed where we have experienced unsatisfactory standards with hygiene. Our two night, three day break left us feeling that we had been away much longer due to the relaxed atmosphere, good food, good sleep, rest and fun that we had. This is a walkers dream and walkers tend to own dogs, so well done Craig Y Nos Castle you have identified a market including the weddings and we wish you every success for the future. Lastly, expect to hear from us soon to book another break with you.
Archie, Mags & Paul H
Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple

“Great place for Dog Lovers”
5 of 5 starsReviewed 1 September 2014
A superb Hotel the staff were brilliant in all aspects of service, The communication prior to our visit was excellent. On arrival the Reception staff were very proficient and had a friendly demeanour and we were immediately escorted to our Duplex apartment.The accommodation was roomy and well appointed the bathroom was small but adequate, as dog owners we have become used to substandard rooms but this was definitely not the case here!the downstairs area was well furnished and upstairs was large open and roomy. the bar area is cosy and dogs are allowed free rein the staff are very attentive.
Stayed August 2014, travelled with family

“Absolutely brilliant!”
5 of 5 starsReviewed 30 August 2014
My wife and I with our little dog Robin spent 4 nights last week in this dated but charming castle hotel and how fortunate we were to have found this gem, nestling in the beautiful wooded River Tawe valley, in the dodfriendly website. We were fortunate enough to have been allocated room 11, in the quiet courtyard,a very large comfortable room perfect if a dog is accompanying you. We had booked in B&B only (special rate £250 for 4 nights) but having sampled the fare on the first night, which really was excellent, we ventured no further for the remainder of our stay. To say that the hotel is dog friendly is really putting it mildly, our dog was made to feel welcome and made a fuss of by all the staff, a sausage was reserved for her at each breakfast and a mat provided for her beside our table from where she could eye up and sniff the other pets around the bar, all on their relaxed and best behaviour. There are many varied walks both in the castle grounds and in the hills around and round trip drives throughout the Brekon Beacons.A visit to this charming hostelry is highly recommended, with or without a dog.
Room Tip: Room 11 large and comfortable, fitted our for disabled use

“A unique, historical and very dog-friendly place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 19 August 2014
My partner and myself just returned from a wonderful three night stay at Craig-y-Nos (Aug. 10th- 13th), with our two dogs. We just loved it! Fascinating history (which I won't spoil for those of you who haven't been yet...) explained to us during an informative castle tour. Our room was huge, with a separate lounge area and the most amazing shower I have had in my life:0) A big bonus for us was how dog-friendly the place is- we were all made truly welcome. The castle is adjacent to the country park which is perfect for dog walks and there are plenty of other walking routes to explore further afield. A long walk was necessary to burn off some of the delicious and very plentiful breakfast we were served each morning!
Each room has so much character and unique appeal- we can't wait to go back an see how the restorations are progressing.... Thank you to all the staff at Craig-y-Nos for a superb break.
Room Tip: Large downstairs room in the courtyard is excellent for dogs.

“Once you've stayed here you'll for sure want to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 16 August 2014
We were a family of four, boys aged 7 & 11 and our 2 dogs visiting this beautiful dog friendly castle. Fabulous location for kids & dogs. Members of staff very helpful & friendly. Great food! We for sure plan on returning
Stayed August 2014

“Dog friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 12 August 2014
My brother Marley and I stayed for two nights with mum and dad. They booked on a dinner B&B basis and was not disappointed. They thoroughly enjoyed dinner on both nights and the breakfast was also very good. We were allowed sausages ourselves for breakfast and we had dog beds supplied in the bar so we could snooze while they ate. We made friends in the bar with others dogs. We were not allowed in the separate restaurant but it didn't matter. The castle is built on a hillside and each morning we ran down the terraced paths to a river. We could run around without our leads on. There were no cars and no sheep. Our favourite holiday so far. Lots of running around the bridges, woodland and open grassland. Wuff Wuff Love from Archie.
Stayed August 2014, travelled with family

“Doggy heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 12 August 2014
So refreshing to come to such a warm and welcoming haven in the mountains- this is our second stay and the whole family absolutely adore it here! The staff are wonderful and couldn't do more. There are dog beds in the bar, so you can 'dine with your best friend' without having to worry- the dogs even get a complimentary sausage for breakfast! Would highly recommend.
Stayed August 2014

“Don't knock it - it does interestingly what it says on the tin”
4 of 5 starsReviewed 12 August 2014
This accommodation is just what you would expect from a place that has an intriguing history as a country house, turned by opera's biggest star into a chateau with its own theatre, and landscaped grounds, and then left to be a TB hospital, knocked about by the medicos, who neglected the finer points of external and internal architecture and decor for years. It was finally re-sold to the private sector when someone decided to have a go at transforming it after years of neglect into a hotel with amazing facilities. Despite all the reviews here which knock it, nitpickingly, we thought this was a great venue for a wedding, with good chefs, and an amazing mix of rooms, many of which are not far away from complete restoration. The limited numbers of staff manage to keep it going really well, and there is no faulting their charm and courtesy and helpfulness; and they do not in their publicity offer more than they can deliver. Restoration to pristine beauty will take a little longer. In the meanwhile it's great that you can take the dog(s), and even eat in a room with them, Being able to socialize with other dog owners, even on the occasions when you leave them in your room, adds a pleasant dimension to a holiday break. We stayed in one of the theatre's former changing rooms, giving onto a lawn through a french door, close to the pass down into the country park, excellent for those night-time interruptions. The shower was astonishingly modern. The room was cleaned on request and we accepted that they simply couldn't do it automatically every day. Of course it is a hotel and more than a B&B, it serves good meals at night except on wedding days, and it has ample rooms for relaxation. Everyone could undoubtedly think of added refinements that will eventually make this go into a higher category, but for me, this worked well as a place for a few day's break, with the pooch and in a glorious location. Wedding guests who don't like dogs should not have any problem. Really interesting place to stay. You might enjoy it more if you knew a bit about Adelina Pattti, the diva soprano who was the chatelaine early in the 20th century
Room Tip: Study the website carefully, the descriptions are accurate enough. There is a huge variety of types.

“Dog friendly beauty in Brecon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 11 August 2014
What a gem of a place.
Beautiful, characteristic, good food, dog friendly in all areas, nice bar, fantastic history. Allegedly haunted, but make your own mind up, we saw nothing! Set in the Brecons with fields and forest walks very near by. We took our daughter (in a wheelchair) through the forest while walking the dogs. Forest has good solid paths for the more unstable or wheelchair users - or go for the woods if able. The staff can take you on a free tour of the castle if you wish. Very interesting. Still being renovated, but if they continue the work they have already done, this will be a paradise in a year or two. Had the most powerful shower I have ever had, amazing. We stayed in AB16 which was very spacious. Wi-fi in the fully stocked bar area but not in the rooms which was nice, we actually conversed as a family!  The food was great too, we ended up eating there all 3 nights as the food was so good on the first night. Breakfast was a buffet, plenty of it and as much as you liked. Everything you would expect from a top hotel. Fruit, tea, coffee, croissants, cereals, Welsh Cakes......I definitely gained weight!  The gym had a good selection of equipment and a superb Spa.
4 stars as it is being renovated, but that gives it character and doesn't detract from us going again, I'll help them paint next time if they ask!  We can't wait to go back.
Room Tip: From listening to others, all the rooms seemed to be good

“Excellent Dog friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 9 August 2014
Craig y Nos Castle is very dog friendly, they serve excellent food in the Patti Bar and it is no problem to have your dog with you whilst you eat there at dinner or breakfast. They have various dog beds available to the side of the bar for your dog's comfort. The rooms are very clean, we stayed in AB21 which probably has the best bathroom, fantastic bath and floor tiles. The bedroom was quite small but fine for us. You can walk straight into the country park next door from the castle, there are lovely walks by the river and you can also get up onto the Brecon way from there. We will definitely be visiting again.
Room Tip: AB21 has a great bathroom. Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple

“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 31 July 2014
Just spent 3 nights here and could have stayed for another 3! The best dog friendly hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff are all so friendly and helpful, the food is very good and the breakfast sets you up for a good day walking. The Castle renovations are a work in progress, I have never felt so comfortable anywhere else with my dog, very informal and friendly, A walk through the gardens takes you straight into the Brecon Beacons National Park, which is lovely, also helped by the lovely weather we had while we were there. Also lovely streams so when we did have a day out with our cocker spaniel Jack at the beach, he could wash all the sand and salt water off him in the streams, which left his coat lovely and shiny and silky. We stayed in room AB16 which was fabulous, clean with plenty of room and I have to mention the shower, after having a power shower at home I have never before found one in a hotel to match up to it...this one did!!  Full marks to all the owners and staff at the hotel, you do a brilliant job and we will be back there soon.

“Doggie Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 26 July 2014
A beautiful location,excellent service at all times by very helpful and friendly staff. Dogs are made very welcome at all times , given beds to lye on and sausages at breakfast. The castle has much history and the tour is very interesting lasting around 1 1/2 hours. The owners are working hard to restore the castle to its original splendour and are doing an amazing job. Will definitely be returning , a stay of at least 3 nights is recommended as there is so many beautiful walks to fit in.
Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends

“A perfect short break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 July 2014
We selected Craig y nos castle as we were looking for a dog friendly hotel and we were not disappointed, the best genuinely dog friendly hotel we have ever stayed in. The staff were really friendly and welcoming to us and our two dogs. The quality and choice of food was excellent together with excellent service. We loved the style and quirkiness of the castle, beautiful location, views and walks. Fantastic short break that surpassed our expectations, we will definitely be returning.
Room Tip: Rooms are all very different so do look at their website to request a room that matches your requirements.

“If you want to take your dog on holiday this is an excellent choice!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 28 June 2014
Firstly the only negative and the reason this review does not have 5 stars - If you want a quiet holiday please check that a hen night or wedding is not taking place when you are staying as it can be very noisy into the early hours of the morning.
Other than that this is in a beautiful setting, you and your dogs will be made extremely welcome, the food is lovely and plentiful, the working staff are very welcoming and the ambiance is generally peaceful and slightly quirky. Walks easily accessed and plentiful ..... we will definitely return.
Room Tip: AB21 is a small bedroom but has a beautiful bathroom with roll top bath and power shower

“holiday with dog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 27 June 2014
The hotel really welcomed us and Kia, nothing was too much trouble for them, Kia even got a sausage every morning when we got our breakfast. The food was excellent and plenty of it, in fact we couldn't eat everything at our evening meal. The hotel is situated right next to a country park so plenty of walks with a river running through it so dogs will be in heaven. It was so peaceful and the weather was good to us, so there was plenty of sightseeing. Lots of walks for everyone whatever level.
I would certainly go back again. Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple

“Very special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 27 June 2014
My sister & I visited last week, with 2 of our dogs , making it our 5th stay between us. Our room, theatre left is quite small, but perfect for us with 2 miniature poodles. Pretty views over the side gardens, French door to let the dogs onto the lawn, a little table & chairs for our use just outside.
We were 30 seconds from the back gate giving direct access to the Brecon Park and river Tawe. Over the past 2 or 3 years, my sisters & I have used several of the rooms, all different, varying greatly in size and shape, on line descriptions being very honest. It's an old quirky building, which is gradually being tastefully renovated, thankfully without losing it's charm and individuality. What has remained constant is the standard of cleanliness, the warm welcome and the willingness of the staff to ensure that your stay is everything you want it to be. If you're not a doggie person, don't worry - there is no evidence of their previous presence in any of the rooms or gardens. Last year my brother in law with Parkinson's enjoyed an elegant disability adapted room, comfortable and accessible lounges at his disposal, terraces with stunning views and pretty gardens to walk around. If you need to discuss your needs, just ring the staff, they will do anything to help you. We came to Wales this time to visit a friend in a nearby town who has been poorly. We needed to bring our dogs, and B&B at Craig-y-nos was the cheapest in the area, and cheaper than most self catering. Every visit we have had has been different due to it's unique location. The Brecon Park, drives over the mountains, nature reserve and waterfalls all provide plenty to enjoy. The highlight for us this time was a guided tour of the house, which as residents was free. Martin's knowledge of the castle and local characters was impressive and entertaining. As well as visiting the stunning bridal suite, once Adelina Patti's private chapel ,and some of the recently completed suites, we saw areas upstairs, usually frequented by Ghost Hunters. We learnt the history of each room including the ones currently under renovation like the old farrier's yard. Breakfast was good, and Nicole looked after us well. Every receptionist enquired how we were enjoying our stay and were really interested in us as individuals. Because we were visiting friends nearby, we were usually too stuffed for dinner, but we met Alan the chef at breakfast and he was more than willing to provide anything we fancied for the evening meal if we had wanted it. You can relax at Craig -y-nos. It might be a castle, but you can feel at home there and your stay can be whatever you want it to be. Some , or all of us will be back later in the year.
Thank you

“a little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 June 2014
Having needed a short break which would be ' dog friendly' we had booked in for 3 days bed and breakfast and were taking our dog, Ernie, for his first holiday. We had been worried how the dog would be accommodated. We need not have given it a second thought. The staff were fabulous with us and Ernie was greeted with plenty strokes and ear pulling which he loved. The food was outstanding, if fact the best we've tasted for a long time, and as world wide travellers that is high praise indeed. Even Ernie got a sausage each morning at breakfast which he ate with great gusto. The castles location is fabulous and we had lots of beautiful walks and the dog loved to splash in the river which was safe and shallow for him. The castle is an ' on-going renovation' project and we loved its character and its resident cat Fluffy. We would certainly do a return trip.
paul , val and ernie, wigan.
Room Tip: we stayed in room 14. ( ground floor on suite in the converted stables block) which was ideal

“mid-week stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 24 May 2014
What a wonderful find... we booked AB16 for a 3 night stay in May with our Springer Spaniel hoping for a comfortable dog-friendly base to explore the Beacons. This certainly ticked all the boxes.. Our accommodation was styled in keeping with the Castle and had a useful lounge for relaxing between activities. There are numerous walks that can start from the Castle (all superbly detailed on the website) and a fabulous country park on the door-step. Our Springer loves water and spent a lot of time in the Tawe, which runs alongside the Castle. The Castle has plenty of history - we took advantage of the tour, which was delivered by a very enthusiatic owner and was both interesting and entertaining. Don't miss out on this if it is available (there was no problem in taking our dog along). We found the accommodation and guest areas to be clean and quirky with a few modern touches (lovely shower, wi-fi in Pattis Bar)...this is a Victorian building with a few maintenance challenges (explained on our tour), and these just add to its character. The staff were brilliant - especially our chef and waitresses. They couldn't do enough to ensure we had a great time. We ate in Patti's Bar and our dog was allowed to be with us - a dog bed being provided. The food was cooked to a high standard with quality ingredients and the chef checked in with us - even offering to go off-menu if we wanted something different. Breakfast included a sausage for our dog and set us up for the day (we didn't need any lunch for each of our 3 days there). The atmosphere was informal, which is quite an achievement when you consider the grandeur of the place. This made for a very relaxed stay and we definitely hope to return.
Room Tip: No swimming pool but a really good looking gym & jacuzzi - which we did not use.

“2 night b,b and d stay for 2 adults and a large dog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 28 April 2014
Our stay at the castle was totally relaxing, the staff were very ,friendly considerate and helpful and all the rooms were spacious and comfortable. It was really nice to stay somewhere where dogs are so readily welcomed. It was very good value for money and we will certainly be returning very soon.
Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which was excellent for the dog. We had a large sitting room with a tv.

“craig-y-nos castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 26 April 2014
well what can I say it was our 3rd year to stay at the castle . accommodation brilliant staff were brilliant again and food brilliant ,and even the dog ( wiley had a fab time walking the grounds ) but I would like to say a big thank you to paul Williams our ghost walkers tour its our third vist to the castle and our third ghost walkers tour didn't disappoint us again we had a fab time thank you paul,and anybody wishing to do this ghost walkers tour make sure you get in touch with paul Williams you wont be disappointed , big thank you again to all the staff who are friendly and help full thanks again all for another fab stay at craig-y-nos castle see you all next year keep up the good work :)
Room Tip: witch ever room you stay in you wont be disappointed

“What a fantastic place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 April 2014
My wife and our two Westies have just had the pleasure of stopping here for 3 x nights and, if asked to sum up in one word - EXCELLENT.  We arrived Sunday night and we were made instantly welcome by all the staff members who had clearly had a very busy Mother's day. We stopped in Room AB21 ( the one with the ornate bathroom floor on the website ) and it was excellent for us. We were the only people stopping at the Hotel but the level of staff friendliness and local knowledge was first class. The entire building is very well presented and immaculately clean. Rooms are well appointed and perfectly sized.  The Castle itself is a superb place to stay and I will have no hesitation in either returning or recommending it to anyone - absolutely top drawer location and such friendly staff. Credit to the team for restoring this beautiful place and all the best for the future too. Ideally located for exploring South Wales and some excellent local walks. A proper dog friendly (and people friendly) Hotel.
Breakfast was freshly cooked and beautifully presented every morning by wonderful staff. Even our 2 x Westies were given a sausage each.
Many, many thanks for a wonderful stay.
Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
 
Copyright 2015. All rights reserved.
Back to content | Back to main menu