What other dog owners say about Jack's Dog Friendly Hotel - Dog Friendly Wales

Go to content

Main menu:

Dog's Reviews
________________________________________

Dog Owners' Reviews - 2013
Craig y Nos Castle Dog Friendly B&B
________________________________________

“Perfect Christmas”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 28 December 2013
This was our first Christmas away from home and could not have been better. My husband and I, together with our two cocker spaniels arrived Christmas eve for our three night break to the perfect scene of log fire, stacked satsumas and plates of Christmas chocolates. The atmosphere was more of a select house party than hotel. Our room (11) was warm and welcoming, true enough there was no wifi connection in the room but to be honest its no hardship to sit by the fire in the bar instead.
We had all our meals at the castle including Christmas lunch and the food was wonderful, and extremely reasonably priced. As previously stated the dining room was cold but it certainly did not lack atmosphere. The dogs had a wonderful time exploring the country park and grounds and it was refreshing to find that they were welcome in both the lounge and bar meaning they did not have to be locked in our bedroom. What could be better than sitting by the fire with everyone's dogs snoozing at your feet swapping tales over a glass or two?
Thanks to Martin and all his staff for their hard work and making this a memorable Christmas.
Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple.


Fascinating & Dog Friendly”

5 of 5 stars
We stayed here Mid December for a few nights, so perhaps was not the best time of year to appreciate everything. The Building was fascinating and full of interest and the grounds lovely. Our room was ideal for dogs having a bay window (with views to the hills on 3 sides) with direct access to the gardens and country park. Most of the ground floor public rooms had a majestic feel to them and the Theatre/Opera room adding a bit of eccentric uniqueness. We also have a B&B in an Ancient building so I appreciate what they are trying to do in terms of renovation and wish them the best of luck with it. Close by there are some good places to eat & drink. I would recommend the Ancient Britain for it's real ale and hospitality and the Penycae for marvellous food. (I pays to drive as the road has no footpaths.)
There were one or two very minor points of customer service that could be improved (Breakfast was serviced by 3 different sets of people all slightly differently, Our room had a very elaborate computer shower that really needed a bit of explanation on check-in, although we did figure it out in the end). In general the staff were friendly and very helpful. Overall though I would recommend it and will definitely go again Next year.
Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple


“Can't wait to return.”

5 of 5 stars  Reviewed 28 November 2013
We stayed here back in September and love it. The place was lovely and clean and comfortable. One of the most dog friendly places we have every stayed (and we have stayed in at lot of places). Being a vegetarian the food was lovely and plentiful. The staff were so friendly and made you feel so welcome. So recommend this lovely amazing place. Only down side we didn't stay longer but can't wait to return.
Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple


A fairytale setting that markets as dog friendly, and actually is!”

4 of 5 starsReviewed 31 October 2013
Wasn't really sure what to expect, partly as we've never stayed in a castle before, and partly as all other 'dog friendly' accommodation stayed in has been quite poor. When I informed the reception staff on booking I had three dogs, they just said 'ah you'll need a bigger room then', without any qualms and at no extra cost. There are parts of the castle that are a bit tatty round the edges, but our room (No 28) was more than adequate for our needs and the bathroom lovely (though the kettle needs replacing!) Staff were warm, friendly and helpful and the breakfast was lovely! Didn't eat dinner there but other residents said the food was good. The grounds are just stunning and we would like to go back soon and continue exploring! The dogs loved it too!
Stayed October 2013


“Just lovely”

5 of 5 starsReviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile
We first came to the hotel in June of this year, after a week walking in Snowdon we were definitely ready to relax, (and relax we did) we fell in love with the hotel and the surroundings and our white boxer Lilah was so welcomed. As soon as we returned home we booked again. We came for four nights the last week in September and once again the hotel didn't disappoint. We have stayed in a few hotels that accept dogs but never in a hotel that positively embraces them, our dog Lilah is part of our family and we want to be able to take her everywhere and at Craig y Nos this is possible. The atmosphere created by the staff here is warm, friendly and relaxing where nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast is superb including Lilahs morning sausage and the evening menu is so good and varied we ate in the hotel every night I cannot recommend this hotel enough not just to dog owners but anyone who just wants to kick back and chill out for a few days, we certainly did and we will again as soon as we can. Craig y Nos is a rare gem of a hotel in a beautiful part of the country.
Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple


“The love affair continues”

5 of 5 starsReviewed 1 October 2013
We have just returned from our third visit of the year to the castle through the last week of September. As always, the welcome is warm, the food is great and the surroundings are breathtaking. I have seen some criticisms of the hotel in some recent reviews. I can only say that it is renowned as a dog friendly hotel, which is exactly why we go there. There are dog free areas for eating if you so prefer, but the informal bar area is a perfect place to eat with your pooch curled up at your feet (enjoying a breakfast sausage perhaps!). We have high standards and expectations for our money, and the castle and staff never fail to disappoint. Having already stayed there three times this year, two further bookings for next year have already been made. Surely that says it all really.
Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple


“Two adults and two lively dogs go to Wales”

5 of 5 starsReviewed 19 September 2013
Searched for 'Dog friendly hotels in Wales' First up came 'Craig-y-nos' castle.
The website was massive and some would say confusing - I say interesting, great fun going off on various links to who knows where. We were not sure what to expect as the website clearly states the whole place is a work in progress. very friendly staff upon arrival, Great room with fantastic power shower, excellent evening meal, great sleep.
Breakfast was also excellent with the full fry-up or Kippers, poached eggs on toast etc or the continental type with fruit, cereal, croissants.
Walking - Wow! Straight out back of the hotel the Brecon country park goes on forever.
Dogs - Not just accepted but almost treated as paying guests. The lady in charge of the breakfasts slipped us two sausages for the dogs on the first morning.
Wi-Fi available in the bar area but the rest of the Castle is no phone signal (you might just get one bar at the gate) Just drive up the road a mile and they work.
Loads of historical information in the room file and of course 'Ghost Tours' If you are into that sort of thing. And not forgetting the theatre....See picture.
We will most definitely be returning with the Mutts!
Room Tip: Our room was in a newer part close to the road which was easier for taking the dogs out first thing.



“Superb Castle stay!”

5 of 5 starsReviewed 15 September 2013
It is funny to see how different people can rate a hotel. For every negative review there will be a raving one as well. Ours is of the latter type. We had a perfect three-night stay from 3-5 Sept. The staff was friendly, the food fantastic and the ambiance great. Dogs being allowed gives the place a nice and relaxed feel and the castle cats (especially the long haired, old lady in the reception area) add to that as well. Yes, not everything is brand new, but for us that is part of the charm. Speaking about brand new ... do your health a favour and spend some time in the gym, it is the nicest gym we have had on our three week holiday, shiny new equipment, of high quality and a fantastic view on top of that!
We can definitely recommend Craig-y-Nos to anyone and may very well return ourselves. There is a lot more walking to do in the area!
Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple


“Unusual place”

5 of 5 starsReviewed 13 September 2013
You know, when you book a cheap hotel and it turns out to be a half restored neo gothic mansion featured in most haunted with a theatre built by the lady of the house, diva adelina patti in the 1800s. Did I mention being greeted by a hissing black cat? A farm cat, not the resident one which is lovely. Or the use of the building as a sanatorium? It has quite an atmosphere! Like anything so distinct one will either love it or hate it. My cute little room (14) accessed direct from the courtyard was all very portmeirion. The room was basic although the shower room was very posh! A couple of times I had to wait for a shower as there was no hot water. The hot tub is nice too. The food was good and priced reasonably but not cheaply. Importantly this is a pet friendly venue, so if you don't like dogs and cats don't go here! I love that you can take your dog in the bar dining room! There are no pets allowed in the main dining room. I wouldn't say Craig y nos is pristine or sophisticated, it's much more fun than that.
Sneaky tip - the café at the neighbouring country park does real food (homemade pies, actual veg and potato) cheap - two people, two courses £10
Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple


“What a Fantasic Venue for a Break with the dogs.”

5 of 5 starsReviewed 9 September 2013
Second time that we have stayed at Craig-y-Nos Castle. We were not disappointed by our choice to stay there, the atmosphere, all the Staff, including the Manager, were excellent as per our previous visit. The meal quality was very good with enough choices. The Castle and surrounding area are stunning. It was a great base for touring around the different locations. Very "dog friendly", even to the point that your dog can go into the "Patti" Bar with you at meal times. The guided tour is well worth while as you see places in the Castle not normally open to the public, plus you learn the history of the Castle. The Country Park is only a few minutes walk away, the dogs remembered the walk, tracks etc. from last year and sulked all the way home at the end of our stay. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff to meet our needs. We plan a third visit, with the dogs of course!
Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you have an elderly dog when booking.


“Beautiful, memorable castle stay - already planning next trip!”

5 of 5 starsReviewed 14 August 2013
Just arrived back from a 2 night stay at this castle with my other half and dog. Ive never written a hotel review before but this castle stay deserves to be rated as excellent! I'm over the moon with my stay here I cant find anything to complain about at all. The room was lovely our boxer dog had plenty of room and her own entrance right out to the castle grounds! Excellent when she needed to pop out to the loo at night time! There are so many beautiful walks right outside the Castle through to the Brecon Beacons and nearby rivers for our dog to plunge into she was in doggy heaven! The staff were wonderful, genuinely so helpful. Our dog was spoilt with sausage at breaky and meat at dinner! It was great to dine in the bar of a beautiful castle with our dog lying next to us. The staff even gave her a memory form bed so she could snuggle up! The evening meal was great value, so much choice and generous portions. Although the hotel allows dogs you would never know its very clean and tidy and dogs stay in the bar area away from the main dining room. Ive stayed in many big chain hotels previously when picking accommodation for a short break and although they maybe nice in terms of décor, they are all the same. Nothing memorable about the stay, staff are robotic, food is average. This castle was different, quirky, beautiful and very memorable. It exceeded my expectations! Already planning our next stay :)

Room Tip: We stayed in Theatre Room Right which was perfect as ground floor and separate opening door
(to garden).


“Dog Dreams!”

5 of 5 starsReviewed 10 August 2013
Just come back from a 3 night dinner, bed & breakfast break at the castle, and we're already checking availability for next month! Our 2 dogs had the time of their lives...we've visited a few places that were "dog friendly" but none like this! They had their own bed by the dining table, sausages for breakfast and best of all, acres and acres of parkland to run around on! (the castle cat did take an instant dislike to our overly exuberant German Shepherd tho!!) The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the food.....well the food, particularly the evening meal, was exceptional! The room was very clean and ideal for what we wanted. The castle isnt immaculate, but if you want a quirky, truly dog friendly break, id recommend Craig y nos castle to anyone!  Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple


“quirky - but cool!”

4 of 5 starsReviewed 9 August 2013
This place is very much a "one off"!  Don't stay here if you like your hotels perfectly decorated, bland and modern - but do come here if you like unusual and grand rooms, friendly staff and good food.
The castle has had a fortune poured into renovation, but there's still a fortune needing to be spent to finish it off. It's in a lovely spot, with the craig y nos country park literally on the doorstep, and great views from the rooms. The castle is a huge neogothic pile, partly restored. It looks impressive, and has immense potential. The staff were friendly, helpful, and seemed to love dogs - great as we brought our cheeky 5 month old puppy to stay with us. You probably wouldn't want to stay here if you don't like dogs, as most guests seemed to have at least one.
The food was decent quality, and good value - in fact the whole thing was good value, as we stayed half board as a family of 4, for less than £50 per person per night.
Our apartment was the gatehouse - perfect for us as it had it's own entrance, 3 bedrooms (one had low ceilings and was only suitable for kids) a bathroom and a living room with sky TV. No wifi in the rooms, but available for free in the living areas of the castle itself. The bar was reasonably well stocked, the lounge areas comfortable, and the grounds well maintained. To give you an idea of the "quirkiness", our bathroom had a door straight into a hotel corridor, the shower head was held together with gaffer tape, and the door frames were obviously made of 2 separate parts. Oh, and the bathroom window wasn't frosted and looked out onto the main road - but there were curtains so it didn't matter. Personally we loved this place and will definitely return - but as previously mentioned, be prepared for the unexpected and don't don't come expecting bland sleek modern furnishings! Room Tip: the gatehouse is perfect for families - like having a holiday cottage to yourself


“Doggie Holiday”

5 of 5 starsReviewed 5 August 2013
Easily the most welcoming place for dogs we've ever stayed at. Fantastic value for a 4 night dinner bed and breakfast deal. We've stayed in "dog friendly" hotels before which were more "dogs tolerated" but this was the real thing. It's not everywhere that brings your dog a cooked breakfast along with yours. Nice large fenced in grounds for morning and evening walks and 40 acres of secure country park right outside the gates where your dog can run off the lead and play in the river. Great days out in the Brecon Beacons or nearby. The castle is a work in progress and was a little rough around the edges but everything that is being done is to a high standard. The rooms were clean and a good size, the food was good and the menu changed every day. It felt more like staying in some huge old family estate that belongs to a friend of a friend, than a hotel, and that's the charm of this place. We will be back (with insect repellant!)
Room Tip: Trust the hotel staff to look after you when you book.


“Rustic Retreat from the City!”

5 of 5 starsReviewed 2 August 2013
This is a rustic retreat from city bustle. Great staff, and a great place to stay. Fascinating building with character and truly a "spirit" you can feel during your stay ;) Great value for your dollar. I am a gardener, and for me the grounds were a highlight. Rustic and OLD. Some of the trees there must have been imported from their native lands during the time it was built. We walked the extensive trails on the grounds a number of times. Look for the Magnolia walkway. Some of the oldest I've seen, and a unique tunnel training. Also some of the largest evergreens in the area along a beautiful trout stream. Sheep in the hills and horses in the pastures in the valley. "Briton-Zen" I would call it :) Lots to do near by - but it is the country side, so some driving may be required. Hiking everywhere, country pubs, small towns nearby to explore, an absolutely unique cave park, and an easy day's drive to and back from the Gower Peninsula. You may even find yourself having a conversation with a sheep at some point in the highlands....  Having the dogs around is great. At one point two dogs walked into the pub room as though they were looking for a drink. Probably a good joke there somewhere. You inevitably end up chatting with the other guests over a drink or a dog pet.
If you are going to this area stay here for a unique, rustic, eccentric, and fun experience


“A perfect break”

5 of 5 starsReviewed 29 July 2013
Myself my wife & three dogs spent a most enjoyable time at the castle where we stayed for four days. Our room was in the courtyard & had double door disabled access at ground floor level & easy access to the main building, The room was really comfortable with flat screen tv, tea & coffee making facilities a fantastic disabled shower room & even a bed cover for the dogs to sleep on.
Our first nights evening meal was superb, in fact it was so good we ate there for the next three nights & the breakfasts we of a really high standard as well. The staff we really nice & helpful & nothing was to much trouble for them. I would make a return visit in the future to explore this nice part of south wales, Many thanks to all the staff for making our holiday perfect in this quirky hotel.
Room Tip: room number 11


“Lovely dog friendly break”

5 of 5 starsReviewed 26 July 2013
Just had a lovely 3 night break with our st Bernard cross. Staff were very friendly. Food was good.
Walks from the castle are stunning with a clean stream for the dog to play in close by. Will definitely be back in the spring.
Room Tip: We had room 16 which opened onto a courtyard



“Ignore the negative wingers”

5 of 5 starsReviewed 26 July 2013
I felt compelled to take the time to post a review after returning from a wonderful 3 night B&B stay at the castle. I have read a few of the negative reviews and it makes my blood boil. For those wanting a 5 star luxury experience then spend the extra and find a bland hotel chain. For those wanting a fantastic break with some wonderful touches and amazing staff then come to the Craig Y Nos Castle. The hotel is clearly a labour of love for Michael the owner who has clearly invested not only a lot of money but a whole lot of time into making this place unique. I have stayed in many different hotels in my time and found the quality of staff at the Castle to be up there with the best of them. We stayed in a lovely on-suite wwith our 2 dogs. I note that some reviewers have quiestioned the decor but i liked the wardrobes and beds. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was lovely. It was spacious enough for us and our dogs. I certainly did not find the castle to be dirty and the bar area and restuarant was fantastic. The cooked breakfast was also very nice and the evening meals we had were amazing. The scenery was out of this world and the castle grounds were lovely. Everyone we spoke to also thought the hotel was fab. All the guests were very friendly and our dogs felt very welcome throughout the hotel.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple


“Barkleys first holiday”

5 of 5 starsReviewed 20 July 2013
From the moment we arrived we were all made to feel very welcome by the staff, and the feel and atmosphere of the castle made us certain we had made the right choice. The room was very nice, small but perfect for us and our small dog and has an amazing shower. The staff obviously love their jobs and they love the dogs just as much. Everything we needed for a relaxing holiday with our dog was right there, great scenery and walks, nice and cool in the woodland which is just as well as the temperature was in the 30's. in future we will take insect repellant though as there were midges and horse flies by the river (there's always a downside to the hot weather lol). We stayed for 3 nights b&b and had dinner at the castle too and the food was excellent, Barkley even had his own sausages!

Room Tip: We had AB 14 which opens onto a courtyard, no stairs, plenty big enough for us and our small dog.


“Doggie Heaven”

4 of 5 starsReviewed 19 July 2013
If you are looking for a truly dog friendly hotel in a stunning setting, then Craig y Nos Castle is the place to stay. The accommodation is wonderfully quirky, the staff are friendly and welcoming and the grounds and adjacent Country Park are heaven. We had some glorious walks and swims and enjoyed the beautiful scenery. Ellie, our slightly bonkers young labrador, was in heaven. The food was of a good standard and the service was lovely. Wines and other drinks were very reasonably priced. We thought the Dinner, B&B rate was very good value for money. We'll certainly be staying again!
 Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple


“Recommended for dogs and their owners”

5 of 5 starsReviewed 19 July 2013
On a bit of a whim, we booked 2 nights Dinner Bed & Breakfast at Craig y Nos at short notice and did not regret our decision to stay here with our lively collie Meg. We were allocated room 34 which, although it was upstairs, was down a private corridor accessible from the rear courtyard. This made it easy for us to go in and out with Meg, fortunately the weather was already beginning to get dry and warm which helped as well.
We could not fully open the windows in the room because Meg tried to jump out (!) but our request for a fan was dealt with quickly and efficiently. The room was clean, comfortable and in a peaceful location with a beautiful view of the mountains - the roof of the conservatory below did not detract from this in any way in our opinion.


All the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. Meg particularly enjoyed the sausage for breakfast. Dinners were a real treat, beautifully cooked and generous portions. It was good to be able to have the dog in the bar with us without worrying about how other guests or staff would react.
The location of Craig-y-Nos is perfect, with woody, shaded areas, open spaces and of course the river. Meg had a great time - freaked out at the white stag statues at the rear of the house (just the once) - but overall really enjoyed all the new experiences and slept soundly in her basket all night. We also took her to the Gower (Oxwich Bay) which she loved. We could have done with another day to explore more of the local hill walking but unfortunately we had to go home!
In summary, we had an excellent short break in this charismatic castle. Our needs and those of our dog were cared for calmly and efficiently by friendly, helpful staff. We would love to return soon and fully recommend Craig y Nos for dog owners looking to keep their furry friends happy. Could not fault it.
Room Tip: AB34 has a nice outlook and a quiet location. Fine if your dog doesn't jump out of windows!


“A great time was had by all!!!”

5 of 5 starsReviewed 19 July 2013
My partner and I were delighted to find The Castle in the internet. We have 2 Springer Spaniels that we love dearly but not all hotels feel the same about dogs.
The first view of The Castle is breathtaking, a wonderful view as your drive into the car park. Reception was efficient and friendly, the staff on duty showed us to our room, number 14 I believe, the room was maybe a little smaller than we had hoped for but it was completely adequate for our needs. The room and bathroom were clean and well presented, no complaint so far. We had booked a B&B stay but decided to have dinner at The Castle, a good decision, we found the food was of a good standard and very tasty! Breakfast again was just what was needed to prepare for a day of busy sightseeing. The dogs enjoyed their breakfast of complimentary sausages.
The countrypark was a mega delight for both my partner and myself and the dogs, the dog friendly Castle and the countrypark was ideal for us, we hope to return in the near future.
I would like to comment on several of the reviews for The Castle and indeed some of the other hotels reviewed, the Castle offers quality accommodation, you get what you pay for, why do some people think the opportunity to leave a review is an invitation to be unpleasant and mega critical.


“wonderful dog friendly accomodation”

5 of 5 starsReviewed 16 July 2013
my husband and I and our 2 springer spaniels have had a fantastic time, the hospitality , the accommodation and food were excellent. The location was outstanding, the dogs really enjoyed their walks and swimming in the river, especially as it was so hot. I would recommend Craig y Nos and hope to return
Room Tip: We stayed in room 11, it was a disabled room and had plenty of space for us and our 2 dogs
Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple


“Wonderful retreat for dogs & owners”

5 of 5 starsReviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile
Enjoyed our 2 night stay with two very naughty terriers staff were great setting was perfect for walks castle is historical quirky and an obvious labour of love for the owners room was traditionally furnished very comfy which we loved the whole atmosphere is enchanting we will be coming back again - we thought the full English was superb but should be 'full welsh'!
Stayed July 2013

Perfect retreat for dogs and their owners
Reviewed 7 July 2013 NEW
What a fantastic venue the castle is with all the National Park at your fingertips. The accommodation itself was clean and tidy. The food was superb and the staff topped it all with their hospitality, they were very friendly to us and our dogs Molly and Alfie. We really enjoyed our short stay.
Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple

Quirky and great
Reviewed 5 July 2013 NEW via mobile
My wife and I stayed in 2005 and thoroughly enjoyed our time here. It was only recently that we were able to return again with our 2 border terriers and it was nice to see a lot of enhancements without the loss of the quirky charm of this hotel. Don't expect the Ritz but do expect comfortable, clean, comfortable, great value rooms in a fantastic and interesting castle setting. The public areas of the bar/lounges and dining/billiard room are a great plus point as they are places you can just sit with a book and a pint after a long walk in the Brecons and they have lovely views from the windows. We didn't try the food this time round (we went to a couple of the local pubs) but can vouch that the cooked breakfast was very good and added to the many generous offerings of this hotel. It is emphasised that it is a work in progress (most of the closed and derelict areas you can't see anyway unless you go on the ghost tours), but the success they have in the wedding market shows that this does not detract from what a great place this is. I hope they carry on the gradual enhancements and hope to return sooner than in 8 years!
Stayed July 2013, travelled with family

A perfect place to recharge and refind that smile
Reviewed 3 July 2013 NEW
What a wonderful experience. I was relaxed and feeling mellow within an hour of arriving, and that after a 4 hour drive! Where to begin? Our room (annexe 11), the food, the setting, the grounds AND the wonderful staff. I think our dog Buddy thought he was in dog heaven, which meant my wife was happy! Everything exceeded my expectations, and that in itself is unusual. Yes, as has been said by others, it IS a work in progress. which is clearly pointed out by the owner, but it in no way distracts from all the guests enjoyment or comfort. I would DEFINITELY come here again. All the very best to all the staff and good luck for the future. Room Tip: If bringing a dog ask for ground floor, although staff give very good advice anyway.


Doggie heaven, and pretty good for doggies "mums & dads" too!
Reviewed 23 June 2013
Agree with all that has been said by others. If our Alice could speak she would re-book asap, not surprisingly after sausage for breakfast on her own cushion! Not been to a hotel that was so pet oriented, there was even a cat on a lead there enjoying a mini break. Fantastic walks right on the doorstep, and others not far by car. And as an aside the local pub the Ancient Briton had the best selection of real ales outside of a festival IMHO. The Castle staff were extremely friendly, and all power to the owners for the future.


If you've got dogs this is the place for you
Reviewed 18 June 2013
The castle and views are probably the best you can get. My wife, our two dogs and I stayed for four nights and wished we had booked for longer. The staff at the hotel really excelled themselves and made the stay, so much more enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble and the way the dogs were looked after at breakfast and during evening meals, made it feel like home from home. The room we stayed in was very impressive, with all the amenities you would expect from a normal hotel and the bathroom was amazing, this room was about the same size as the bedroom, with free standing bath, large powerful shower and plenty of room for the dogs to lie down, on the beautiful tiled floor. To walk the dogs, we just opened the gate at the rear of the castle and away you go, in the castle grounds and then into the national park. The river and the country side took our breath away. The owners of the castle left a folder in our room, which showed all of the walks they had been on with their dogs, with pictures, really good directions and what you could expect if you decided to go on one. This was very useful and the beach and the waterfall walks were well worthwhile. The cost of our stay was very reasonable, considering it included breakfast and our two dogs. We will be visiting again soon. If you’ve got dogs and you want to take them on holiday, then you can’t go wrong with Craig-Y-nos Castle.
Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple

Had such a lovely weekend away
Reviewed 12 June 2013
it took our breath away when we turned into the court yard ,we had such a wonderful time- our room was spotless and the size of the bathroom was all new , clean and huge, the food was excellent and the breakfasts consisted of every thing you wanted. all staff were lovely and welcoming, and made visitors with dogs very welcome the whole castle and grounds were so picturesque with the lovely country park , with streams and lakes on your door step,which kept our dog lola, amused for hours, take your camera or you will miss out on some stunning scenery, perfect for your wedding or that perfect relaxing break, we have recommended it to all our friends and will be back ourselves but will book in with a ghost tour next time.. Julie and roger, lola. from lampeter, west wales.
Room Tip: go onto the craig y nos website to view.


Our puppy's 1st birthday treat!
Reviewed 8 June 2013
We just got back from this amazing place! I wanted to take my puppy somewhere special for his very 1st birthday...3rd June 2013. I googled dog holiday's and sorted through at least 50 different places. Craig Y Nos Castle had such a good write up and loads of information on their website about how dog friendly this place is, so that's why i chose it...as it was our puppy's treat (not ours) my 1st impressions were WOW!!!!!!! Benji (puppy) had a yummy sausage for his breakfast every morning, Loads of fuss, miles and miles of countryside walks with streams to drink from and not too far from Oxwich beach. When we got home he wouldn't get out of the car!!! It was his first time away from home and he was soooooooo good bless him. We ate in the breakfast room the 1st morning but because Benji is 5 and half stone and very hyperactive we ate outside every morning after that ha ha! He just can't sit still and anybody that met him will most certainly remember him! I've recommended this place to everyone i know with a dog (although such a beautiful place without a dog too!) We will definately be returning in the next few months as Benji absolutely loved it...so did we! Thankyou to everyone involved in making Benji's 1st birthday so very special and one he'll always remember.xxx
Room Tip: Room AB11 is where we stayed. There were me and my partner and our big puppy. It's a disabled room


Lovely, picturesque, relaxing and dog friendly!!
Reviewed 28 May 2013
We have just had 5 nights at the castle and thoroughly enjoyed it. I've never been anywhere where your pets are made as welcome as you and we took 3 of them! Our room was lovely, everywhere was spotless and plenty of tea and coffee in the room. The castle grounds and country park were a pleasure to wander round, lovely after a good breakfast. Patti's bar was lovely to sit in on an evening in front of the fire. We didn't always feel like a full meal so a bar snack menu would have been a welcome addition. All the staff were pleasant,and welcoming nothing was too much trouble. We will certainly be returning again and have already recommended the castle to everyone I've spoken to since our return. Angie and Stuart - Yorkshire
Room Tip: We stayed in the atrium which was ideal as we had a door directly outside so it was handy


A stunning dog friendly castle
Reviewed 27 May 2013
We had a wonderful 3 night break in the castle with our terrier Mr Burt. The hotel is very old, however it was very clean. The staff were extremely helpful & friendly & the food was really lovely. Dogs are made very welcome & it's lovely to relax in the bar or lounge of an evening. There is so much to see & do within walking distance of the castle. The castle grounds & country park are beautiful. A short drive to Swansea & then onto the Gower is a must for beautiful beaches. We will definitely be returning. Kerry & Mark - Shropshire
Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple


Dog walkers paradise
Reviewed 22 May 2013
Stayed on the three night special, what a treat. The staff where brill, they where all Welsh. At times we thought we were in a sketch from Gavin and Stacie. They were all faultless and the breakfast and dinners were to die for. The room we had was ideal, very clean and plenty of condiments, perfect for the two of us plus dog. The grounds of the castle are amazing and you can spend all day meandering around the place, just around the corner are the famous Brecon caves. (footnote) You can tell that the owners and staff at the castle are very passionate about the place and are trying to restore it to it's former glory. We wish them every success in their endeavours. We will return!!!  Room Tip: If you have a dog ask for a courtyard room.


Our first doggy holiday
Reviewed 21 May 2013
My Uncle had his wedding here and we found out that you can take your dog for no extra charge so we thought we would make a little holiday out of it. We have a large nervous German shepherd and this was his first holiday with us so we were naturally a little nervous. We went to our room late on the Friday night and went to our room from the gardens, which were beautiful and perfect for mid-night doggy needs :) The room was clean and basic, which we expected being in a room for dogs. The television had 5 channels, with occasional loss of signal, but we weren’t there to sit in the room watching TV! The bathroom was lovely, decent size with the most amazing spa shower ever! It took a little while to understand, but they had instructions for us and by the end of the 4 days we were masters at the water jets! The room itself was a little small as we found our dog did get under our feet a lot, however this was not a problem for 4 days and like I said our dog is a BIG German Shepherd so I suppose it would be perfect for a couple with a smaller dog. We got to the castle late and thought we would go for some food in the Patti Bar, we saw the menu (which looked amazing) however didn’t fancy a full meal, so the waitress asked us if the Chef could make us something specific, which was so thoughtful.

We then took our dog into the bar area (everywhere in the castle is dog friendly) and he loved the employees, they were so good with him. The breakfast the next morning was brilliant! Full Welsh breakfast with all the trimmings, or you could order anything you wanted and they would make it :) the chef also cooked our dog a sausage too, which he loved! The wedding itself was so amazing, the Theatre was beautiful and the reception was brilliant, with such lovely food, the bar was also open as late as we wanted, which was perfect for a few tequila nightcaps. The area itself is quiet, and the walks in the country park (literally on the doorstep of the castle) were beautiful! It was HUGE and so well looked after, and there were lots of paths that were reasonably flat so very easy for us beginners to walk: Our dog loved the amazing stream running through the woods, which was so clean. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return to the castle. Thank you for making my Uncle's wedding so special and our first doggy holiday so memorable.


It doesn't get much better than this!

Reviewed 21 May 2013
We stayed at the Castle from Monday to Friday on a four night special dinner bed and breakfast deal. The decision to book there was based on it being dog friendly and looking like an amazing place in a fabulous setting. What a great decision it was. The Castle is a wonderful old building, and well worth exploring. Then there are the grounds and the setting. Simply breathtaking! The Castle grounds merge seamlessly into the Craig Y Nos Country Park and thence out into the Brecon Beacons. You can just keep walking forever. It was great to be able to safely leave our dog off the lead for so much of the time. On the subject of our dog, some places say they are dog friendly and really only pay lip service to it. Not so at Craig Y Nos. They love dogs and have a pack of their own which we met whilst out walking one day. Our little girl was welcomed everywhere and was even treated to a plate of chicken on our first night down at dinner. The food is good with generous portions, and the staff and friendly and helpful. The Castle forms a great base for exploring the Brecon Beacons and for visiting attractions in the area. We also spent a wonderful day on a deserted beach on the Gower Penninsula, within easy travelling distance from the Castle. The Castle is old, with a lot of character, and as such is not in perfect 'plastic' condition. If you want the latter, then go stay at a travel lodge or similar. We stayed in room 21, which has the most amazing bathroom. The accommodation is of a good standard. In summary, we had a great time and enjoyed our stay so much that we booked another break on the spot.


Perfect mini break with the dogs

Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile
Just got back from a 2 night stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend the castle to people looking to get away with the dogs for long walks and relaxing. All the staff were lovely, thanks especially for the little touches like sausages at breakfast for the dogs and their favourite dog bed waiting by our table for every meal. We had breakfast and dinner in the castle, all lovely. The country park was beautiful to walk round, we also went to henryd falls (may have spelt that wrong!) and oxwich bay on the way home which was stunning and almost completely empty. The castle was beautiful, room and bathroom modern and clean, no complaints. We also had a tour of the castle and it was really interesting to find out all the history of the castle, and bloody terrifying going ghost hunting in the children's ward in the dark!!!!!  Would also recommend the penycae which welcomes dogs and was great food and service, just up the road. Thanks to everyone at the castle, I'm sure we will be back!
Stayed May 2013

Highly recommended

Reviewed 14 May 2013
We stayed at Craig y nos Tuesday until Friday on a 3 night special deal. A totally enjoyable much needed break , in stunning surroundings , and we really enjoyed the atmosphere . To be able to bring our lovely little german pointer pup Ella (7 months old ! ) was a complete bonus . The staff were absolutely fantastic .nothing was too much trouble. In fact on our final evening as the restaurant was not open we had bought some snacks back to the castle with us .A member of staff opened up a cosy sitting room, lit a roaring fire in the log burner and put on the tv for us to dine in comfort !! On the evening we did dine at the castle the food was fantastic with puds to die for, being right next to the brecon beacon national park was great, we were all exhausted including Ella,Great place Brilliant deal We will be back Pete ,Jo and Ella from wiltshire. Room Tip: For dog owners the theatre rooms have direct access to a safe enclosed garden for your for your kids


Talk About Chilled!
Reviewed 14 May 2013
We stayed at the castle for two nights last week and can honestly say that if you want to get away from it all and totally relax - this is the place for you! We had a lovely clean modern room (22) and weren't bothered about poor TV signal or mobile/laptop signal - we wanted a holiday AWAY from all that. Our dog Jake had a fabulous time and we were all treated with such friendliness and attentiveness that I just cannot think of a single negative thing to say! Wonderful place, food, staff, countryside etc etc etc. Will definitely go back again - hopefully very soon.
Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple

a dogfriendly break
Reviewed 11 May 2013
We recently spent 2 nights here and loved it. Ours dogs were allowed to stay in the lovely spacious room with us and even joined us for breakfast where a bed was provided for them. There were walks right from the door around the adjacent country park. Unfortunately, because we were staying at a quiet time (which in one way was brilliant!), no evening meals were available at the hotel but a short drive to the nearest town gave us plenty of takeaway choice although after the enormous, tasty breakfast, we didn't need much! There are more local pubs with food available but they were reluctant to take on our 3 dogs (unlike the hotel who welcomed them with open arms and a tasty looking cat!).  Our room was very clean, warm and cosy and we felt very at home and relaxed. There was wifi but this was hit and miss in our room due to the thickness of the walls but a short walk to the bar was all it took for it to work. Alternatively, if we had taken a laptop, we could have connected to the in room phone but other half suffered the hardship of having a beer whilst using his tablet in the bar!  The staff were very freindly and helpful and catered well for vegetarian needs at breakfast. The Castle itself is interesting and the history provided in the room made walking around the building a well informed tour. The building is still a work in progress but this didn't spoil our stay.
Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple

Dog friendly honeymoon
Reviewed 7 May 2013
Have just returned from our (postponed) honeymoon/1st anniversary at the castle. The staff were lovely and very helpful through out our stay and even more so after a slight accident (off site horse riding accident) offering to arrange doctor's appointments etc. In the end a trip to the hot tub worked miracles for the sore muscles. The staff even printed off directions to a beach we wanted to visit. The room was perfect for us, we had two very large dogs with us and we had enough space for their crates, all of their essentials (bowls, towels, toys) as well as our own belongings without feeling cramped. The castle is perfectly located for exploring, with lots of activities to do in the area. The grounds were perfect for our two dogs, who enjoyed running around and jumping in the river and getting all muddy and wet. They were still welcome to join us in the lounge and bar despite their less than prisitne appearance. The food was also very good (I thoroughly recomend the chef's home made Chicken Madras and had it twice in one week!). The breakfast set us up for a long day and the evening meal was the perfect way to unwind. The bar was very reasonably priced (our final bill was a nice surprise). If staying for more than a few nights, I suggest taking some cat treats for the castle cat, Fluffy. Had a very enjoyable time and already planning our return trip. Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple


doggy long weekend
Reviewed 5 May 2013
Very friendly and completely dog friendly.Excellent all round.highly recommended for you and your dog.Excellent food even catering for vegetarian and gluten free diets.Great walks in the grounds and adjoining country park, or a short drive away are mountain and reservoir hikes.


Little Slice of Peace & Quiet

Review 24/02/2013
Just got back from this lovely peaceful Castle. We took our Jack Russell Mazy Friday-Sunday to get away from phones, work and the general craziness of life and we've come home absolutely tired but relaxed. We arrived on Friday afternoon, check in is at 3pm, we were taken to our room - theatre ground left. We had a lovely warm cosy room with a door that lead out onto the terrace/garden which was great for Mazy as it was fenced in and she could go and enjoy all the lovely smells. The views from the room were stunning yet so peaceful. After a blast in the state of the art shower which lit up with jet blasts it was off to the bar for dinner with Mazy in tow. The bar has a great big fire and cosy sofas and chairs. We were looked after all weekend by Beth who is so down to earth and friendly and absolutely loves dogs, taking time to talk to us and Mazy.

Now this is where this place excels, we booked in on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis, we didn't realise this was a 3 course evening meal and each course was 5* melt in your mouth goodness, you could have a sirloin steak, chicken, salmon for main course, pancakes stuffed with mushrooms or asparagus and other items for starters and the desserts just tipped me over the edge, I had chocolate mousse one night and chocolate torte the next, but we walked it off. On Saturday morning it was down to breakfast in the bar where you go and help yourself to coffee/juice toast then Beth takes your order for a cooked breakfast and if you ask they will bring you sausages for your dog - wow! We decided to go for a walk and Beth said that the Henrhyd waterfalls were a good place to go, she got us directions and off we went, this was a 10 mile round walk and took us 3.5 hours and boy did it wear us out, we were fit to drop when we got back. The castle grounds and surrounding areas are beautiful, if you go this time of year take your thermals and a comfortable pair of walking shoes.It is pretty cold in the castle so take a warm jumper and you'll be fine. A lot of people go to Craig-Y-Nos for the haunted element, you can have a ghost tour or go to a fright night. Out of curiousity we asked Marie from reception to show us the upstairs of the castle where we saw Madame Patti's beaudoir and the childrens ward of the old TB hospital-interesting if that's your thing. To sum up, Craig-Y-Nos is a work in progress as they state in the welcome pack but you will be welcomed with open arms by a lovely friendly staff, you will eat amazing food, you can take in the local scenery and truly be able to relax, along with your dog who is welcomed as much as anyone else. We will definitely be going back in a few months when the time comes to get away from it all. Thanks Beth and all your staff for letting us enjoy Craig-Y-Nos.
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple

A weekend to remember

What a wonderful valentine weekend we had at Craig y Nos Castle. We were a little apprehensive to say the least, as we had never been away with our two Border Terriers before, but we need not have worried. The staff made us very welcome, the food was fantastic, the castle grounds and surrounding area is perfect for walking and sightseeing. Our room was lovely, really warm and cosy, couldn't find fault at all. Our "girls" had a great time meeting their new friends as we sat chatting with the other guests by a roaring log fire. Will definitely return next year. In fact we can't wait.
Stayed February 2013

One not to be missed. Boris loved it !!!!!! Oh and so did we
Having not really having much time to go away all together with work etc we always include Boris in our holiday plans. Well I found a rare and precious gem in the form of Caid-y-nos castle. Staff amazing (I know this adjective is used willy nilly but they truely are !!!!!!!!). Many thanks to Simon, Beth and the lovely ladies on reception. Food was out of this world and we are all struggling to do our clothes up. Including Boris who came home with enough lamb shank bones for at least a year. Every last detail was catered for and nothing was ever too much trouble. Thanks Beth for the tour of the attic before we left it was outstanding and a little bit creepy. I absolutely cant wait to come back it was an experience that must be done at least yearly. Boris is missing you all and quite subdued now without his friends to play with.
Thanks again
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple

Doggi heaven

We. have all just come back from doggy heaven,and are all shattered but very happy. We stayed with our moms and dads for 2 nights , we really loved our sausages at breakfast ,on the house !!! We slept in a lovely warm room and as it was a courtyard we could go in and out at our leisure .. At night we all went into the bar and could pick a doggy bed to lie on . I choose the one with paw prints on ,my sister had the fluffy one because she's a princess. After dinner we all went into the big lounge and sat by a log fire. The castle is surrounded by fantastic woodland walks not muddy and Beautiful clear streams where we all went in and paddled of course I showed them all the way ( I love water),we also walked round the reservoir 10 mins away lovely and flat for my sisters who are not so athletic as myself. All in all I can honestly say "paw on heart "we will be dreaming of Craig y nos castle and all of our new friends ESP little goral terriers for a long time to come woof woof sunnybear,furybear gypsy lowrey . :-)
Room Tip: Courtyard rooms open out good for dogs
Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends

“Craig Y Nos”
Reviewed February 18, 2013
Have just returned from a second two night break (with friends & three dogs) If anything it was even better than the first visit and we loved that one !! There can be few places more welcoming than this wonderful dog friendly hotel. Simon, the chef, and his wife Beth offer a service that would grace a much higher rated establishment and together with Claire on reception, do their very best to make their guests (and dogs) feel as comfortable as possible. Their committment to the hotel, and to the needs of their guests is most appreciated and highly recommended. The Dog Friendly Hotels In Wales website tells you all you need to know about rooms, walks etc. and is very accurate. If you are looking for a mid week break, with a dog or two (or three) in a beautiful part of Wales, Craig Y Nos Castle is as good as it gets. We are already planning our next visit.
Room Tip: The Courtyard rooms are ideal for dog owners.
Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends


“Charming dilapidated castle in Welsh Hills”
Reviewed January 10, 2013
First impressions are wow! Big looming castle, clock tower, HUGE grounds. Half the castle is habitable and the other half is being lovingly restored (with no help from Welsh tourism) to its former glory. The big lounge areas are full of oxblood leather chairs to slop about on and wood burners. Very informal and welcoming. It makes for an interesting walk round the interior of the castle, especially the opera theatre. Bits of it are in a right state, but the bits that guests use are lovely. We've got a labrador and were looking for a quiet getaway we could enjoy walking in the Brecons where our hound was welcome. We were so happy to see that dogs are indeed part of the family and very welcome. The owner has some of his own. We enjoyed our dog being in our room, and the walks in the grounds are simply stunning. Forestry, lakes, big open fields. perfect for kids too and we'll be back in spring. Initially we thought the food was a bit pub typical and unimaginative but we LOVED the food. The meat was tender, veggies perfectly al dente and the flavours were fresh. It is hearty fayre too - big portions. The staff were friendly and helpful and even though our room leaked and we had to be moved, it was all dealt with in a very calm, peaceful way. Its not the ritz but if you can bag on of their frequent deals, its a great family/dog weekender.
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple


“Favourite retreat”
Reviewed January 3, 2013
We stayed here once again between Christmas and the New Year with our dog. Very friendly and helpful staff, made us feel very welcome. Food was absolutely excellent. Ideal for someone who doesn't want a run of the mill hotel chain experience, as the building is very gradually being restored, but bags of character and a great atmosphere. Had a lovely time and will be back soon!
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple.
 
Copyright 2015. All rights reserved.
Back to content | Back to main menu