What other dog owners say about Jack's Dog Friendly Hotel - Dog Friendly Wales

Go to content

Main menu:

Dog's Reviews
________________________________________

Dog Owners' Reviews - 2012
Craig y Nos Castle Dog Friendly B&B
________________________________________
“Dog Friendly Holiday”
Reviewed December 25, 2012
Just had a fantastic 3 night stay @ Craig Y Nos...........most of all the dogs loved it (all 3!!)
We stayed in room 28 which was recommended and was exactly as described by the reception team (Claire & Melanie?) when we initially booked. I could list all the best bits but to be honest it was all 100%. The staff were brilliant and so helpful and friendly and especially the chef for cooking 'off the menu' food which was fabulous - looking forward to maybe a summer break with less rain!!  Impact of restoration was 0% despite warnings. Room Tip: for owners with elderly / less mobile dogs request a downstairs room - stairs to room 28 was quite steep

“Wonderful three day visit”
Reviewed October 2, 2012
My husband and I visited this castle for a couple of days break. The cost of B&B was £200 for three nights, which we found very reasonable. The dogs went free (what a bonus). On arrival we were made very welcome, and shown to our room,(very unusual). Our room was small and basic, but with dogs we did not expect anything more. We were on the ground floor with a door leading to a garden which was fenced in, great for our " little darlings", and for my husband who is a smoker, so he could just go into the garden for a smoke. The grounds for walking were fabulous. My hounds loved every minute of it. It had been raining alot so the ground was quite wet, but again that was to be expected, so we allowed for it. The staff were very friendly, and nothing was too much trouble. We were able to have breakfast in our room, which is not always possible in some hotels. Our dogs jumped on the bed and covered the sheets & pillows in mud, very sheepishly I appologised to the staff, and was told not a problem we will change the sheets. Most hotels would have given me a right mouthfull. Yes the facilities were quite basic, but when you have a dog with you, you are not going to have Chippendale furniture. In our room we had a convector heater, which was great, nice and warm, but we felt with dogs or children this was possibly not the best of heating, as it got quite hot. But all in all the stay was great, and my dogs were made very very welcome. Yes I would return, we are planning for Christmas. Room Tip: Do not expect the wow factor room wise. We had a small room to the side of the castle, very quiet
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple


“Fantastic break at Craig y Nos”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband booked this break as a suprise at very last minute and it lived up to everything the website said and more!! We paid £150 bed and breakfast for 2 nights including our dog!! We were made very welcome upon arrival and shown to our accommodation, first floor ensuite double room which had lovely views! The room was cosy with tea/coffee facilities and heating!!! We had dinner in the bar on the first night, where you are allowed to eat with your dog, the only place dogs are not allowed is the main dining room understandably. The menu was varied and the food was delicious. The staff are friendly and chatty and couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was again in the bar as we had our dog, window seating with lovely views and not rushed on both mornings. A good selection of items, flowing tea/coffee and a hot cooked breakfast cooked to your liking, plus sausages for ben each morning was a lovely surprise and was greatly recieved. The castle is an ongoing project as anyone can see, it oozes charm and is/has been restored sympathetically by the owners. There was a wedding there on the Saturday but this did not detract from the service we had from the staff at all. The wedding party were so friendly as well which was really nice. All in all, we had a lovely relaxing couple of days with our dog Ben, which is just what we needed. Fabulos place to take your dog and feel at home as they welcome them as much as you. There were lots of dogs on holiday there but they all were we'll behaved and you hardly knew they were there!!! Many thanks to the staff at Craig y nos for a lovely weekend. We will return happily!!! Room Tip: Room ab32 was a lovely sunny room and quiet with a shower. (Owner adds: AB32 is one of the smaller rooms and so not ideal for dog owners - see recommended rooms for dog owners with larger floor areas).

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple


“Fantastic Dog Friendly Hotel”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We travel with our dog and we found a link to Craig-y-Nos Castle from a dog friendly website. The link took us directly to their dog friendly website page. The page was so cleverly written from a dog’s point of view that we decided this was the place for us. We were not disappointed. The castle is beautiful. The staff was very friendly. We stayed in room 28. The room was large and the bathroom was fantastic. I had the most wonderful soak in the beautiful modern deep claw foot tub. The grounds were gorgeous with walking trails, fields and a lovely river. The castle is very dog friendly. Dogs are allowed every where except the restaurant. They are allowed in the rooms and they can join you in the bar area. The bar area serves meals. We had the best time and so did our dog!  Room Tip: En-suite room 28 has a wonderful modern deep claw foot bath and a lovely view of the front of the castle.


“A Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

What an amazing place to stay in and the staff were excellent, so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed with our elderley dog who was made most welcome. The food was great, the rooms are beautiful although most rooms are an ongoing project, a cosy bar with fantastic views of the surrounding mountains. Only downside for us was a very creaking floor in the bedroom - we were concerned about the noise we were making walking around!. We had a totally relaxing midweek break and will definately go back there again.

Room Tip: If you have large or elderley dogs, we suggest you ask to book a room on the ground floor. OWNER RECOMMENDS: AB26 has a nice view over the courtyard but does have absurdly creaky floorboards. It is the only bedroom that has this problem. Floorboards have loosened because they were nailed down originally, rather than screwed down. Until we lift up the fitted carpet and replace all the nails with screws (something we had to do in the corridors to solve the same problem), there are more suitable rooms you can choose. Most suitable ground floor rooms to consider are AB15, AB16, TGL and disabled room AB11: see dog friendly bedrooms.

“I hope to go back soon!”
Reviewed 8 September 2012
Me and my hubby together with 2 dogs stayed at Craig Y Nos last night and the night before and I have to admit, we loved it there!!  All of the staff over our 2 day stay portrayed excellent hospitality skills, made us feel welcome and were very friendly. Everybody was so pleased to meet our dogs and that meant a great deal to us. The room (no 16) was comfy, spacious & spotless and the food was outstanding, we were allowed to take the dogs into the one bar while we ate our meals while guests without dogs ate in a different area. The Chef here cooks a beautiful meal, and the waitresses are all very helpful and friendly. Reception can't do enough to help you along with the rest of the staff.

The gardens and surrounding areas are beautiful and are well kept with plenty of walks for everyone, especially those with dogs. Ok, the building inside is old and there are areas which will need updating, but considering the amount of hard work, love and attention has gone into this building by it's current owners, it will obviously take time and a LOT of money to get things plush... but to be honest, the building is so old the odd area and piece of furniture that looks a little old just adds to the ambience of it all. It's perfect!  The cost for the 2 night stay was well worth it and the cost of the evening meals was without a shadow of doubt worth it.  We hope to go back there again before we move to Canada, but if we don't, we will remember our great stay there for years to come. Room Tip: people with dogs, you may want to consider en-suite room number 16 if it's available, it's bigger


“Well Worth a visit”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Have just returned from a 2 night break (Wed/Thurs 1st-2nd August)  Craig-y-Nos Castle is an important and historic house in need of further renovation. It is situated in wonderful countryside with magnificent views (and walks) all around. The accomodation on offer is very good, being both comfortable and well equipped. The small staff, without exception, are excellent - friendly, welcoming, and efficient. The food, both breakfast (full) and dinner is very good and the desserts exceptional. Simon & Beth who run the resturant are a credit to their employers.

For dog owners it is perfect. Dogs are not only welcomed, they are encouraged !! Meals can be served in the "bar" allowing the dog to join its owners. A breakfast sausage for "Gypsy" was provided and appreciated. With or without a dog, the bar area is the place to eat, a wonderful room with outstanding views. Weekends are mostly taken up with weddings and for a quiet break may not work so well. (Owner adds: see available weekends for dates when there is no event on and you can organise a two night discount B&B break over a weekend). The ongoing renovations had no impact on our stay whatsoever as these seem to be taking place in areas not yet open to the public.

The house is quirky, and there is much work to do but for a midweek break with (or without) a dog it can only be highly recommended. We loved it and will certainly be back. Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple

OWNER RECOMMENDS: B&B stays at weekends when weddings are on are not advised - we are just so busy with the wedding party and have to devote our attention to the Bride & Groom. Most weddings now take the Castle Exclusive under our Special Wedding Deal. This requires the Bride to fill all the en-suites with her guests in return for which she gets the venue for free. Hence we rarely have any vacancies on a wedding night and if there are any rooms left empty, the bride pays for them anyway under her contract. This means we separate all B&B stayers from the Events side of the business. B&B guests are encouraged to stay when the castle is quiet and peaceful. So it it is a peaceful relaxing break you're after, come when there is no event on - see weekend dates that are available here - or stay when it is peaceful and quiet in the mid-week!


“The best dog friendly place ever”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Its so difficult to find anywhere that is truly dog friendly, but this Castle really fits the bill. A beautiful location in mid Wales,and the castles history is so interesting,as it was once the home of a World famous opera singer,Adeline Patti....  The restoration of the Castle is an ongoing thing,but the accommodation on offer so far is very very good,and our room was off a courtyard ,on the ground floor ,which was great for our 2 little pupsters. It was a huge room with a huge bathroom,and the heating was still on ,even though it was end of June (yes the weather was still chilly). Pets are welcome everywhere except the dining room,but a great many guests took their meals in the bar so their dogs could be there. There are wonderful walks and places of interest nearby. We met some great people, and the meals in the castle were excellent,and plenty of it too. Room Tip: we were in room 11,on the ground floor.


“If you're a dog lover this is the place for you.”
Reviewed 25 June 2012
My wife and I like to take a week every year away with our dog, and as such need to either book a cottage that allows dogs or a hotel if possible. When I saw that the Craig-y-nos Castle hotel allowed dogs I thought it would be like most hotels that take dogs, confined to the room only. Well was we in for a pleasent surprise, when this hotel says it is pet friendly it means it. We were allowed into the bar, the TV room and most of the hotel with the dog. The only place he was not allowed was into the main dining room. This was not a problem as the hotel set up dining tables in the bar so you could eat your meals without locking the dog in a strange hotel room.

We booked in for DB&B and the standard of the catering was excellent. The staff were friendly and even went out of there way to ensure the dog did not miss out on someting special to eat. The rooms were clean and tidy and big enough that we did not feel cramped even with a very big dog roaming around. Walk out of the hotel and your into a 40 acre country park which as long as you keep your dog under control allows you to let them off the lead and get some serious exercise in the woods and the river if like my dog they like to swim. From the country park you can also walk along the Brecon trail which takes in some fantastic views. Yes there was things we could of complained about but these were very small and to be truthfull these things did not distract from a wonderful 4 day break. Even though the drive from Leeds to the hotel took forever (the rain did not help) I will book again.
Room Tip: Be aware that the sound proofing in the rooms within the Atrium could be better.

OWNER RECOMMENDS: Certain rooms may be quieter than others. All mid-week breaks are low occupancy anyway and as we tend to space guests with dogs around the castle (certain rooms are better for dogs than others) this means people should not get noise from other guests. Theatre En-suite bedroom Ground Floor Left (good for dogs) is pretty much off on its own, its only neighbour being Theatre Ground Right, which we rarely use as it is small. Of the other dog suitable rooms, AB11, 31and AB25 should not get any sound from other rooms because they are on their own at ends of a block. However AB35 and 36, both dog friendly rooms, may get bathroom fan noise from the neighbouring room if someone leaves the light on in their bathroom.  

However I know AB35 and AB36 can hear each other's bathroom fans if the lights are left on in the bathroom. We don't often get complaints so long as people turn off the bathroom lights! AB15 and AB16 may get the occasional sound from people walking along the corridor to the rooms above, but on the plus side is their sheer size and being on the ground floor means they're good for dogs. Four of the AB20's may get some noise between rooms, though in most cases we have positioned the bathrooms between the rooms to avoid noise from bedroom to bedroom. Exceptions are AB26 and 27 and 21 and 22 which have only an internal wall separating the bedrooms from each other and so may be noisier. However as mid-week B&B occupancy is normally low at 8 - 10 guests, peace and quiet is the norm.


“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
Reviewed 5 March 2012
Myself and my best friend stayed for one night on Sat 3rd March. Our room was of a good size, with wardrobe, hairdryer, tea, coffee etc etc, but the highlight was the bathroom - it was HUGE! Actually bigger than our room! It had a double shower cubicle, toilet, sink and a large stand only bath, very suited to the style of the castle, with a sundial on the floor which added to the features. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful, the food was faultless - we ate dinner and breakfast in the hotel and found all to be delicious, cooked to order and hot and very tasty.

We also appreciated the guide folder in the room that we took the time to read through, and would highly recommend anyone stopping to do so, as the author (who i think is the manager) has taken the time to be quite honest and upfront about the refurbishment works carried out at the Castle over the last 12 years, as well as giving in depth history of the Castle and its prior owners, which I have never come across at any guest house/hotel/B&B before. I would definitely recommend a stay at the Castle, especially if you are a walker as you are inside the Brecon Beacons and also if you have dogs as the castle allows dogs to stay at no extra charge.

The village nearby is lovely with 3 pubs within 2-5 miles, although we didn't visit them due to preferring to stay at the Castle for drinks and food as the weather was very wet, and of course we were glad we did! On the way back home we stopped off at the Chimpanzee Sanctuary which was small but well worth a trip. Would definitely consider a trip back and staying longer in order to visit more of the area. OWNER RECOMMENDS: Bathroom referred to is AB21, which is exceptional. However the bedroom is considered too small for large dogs or anyone with more than one dog. If you have a single small dog, it will be OK.
 
Copyright 2015. All rights reserved.
Back to content | Back to main menu